Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

DANC 10453 - Dance in World Cultures: Finding journal articles

Finding articles and more on topics

If you're looking for material on a topic, from any journal or other scholarly source, the Library's databases are excellent tools.  If the library doesn't have the specific journal you need, Interlibrary Loan is an option, or you can visit another area library by using a TexShare cardMore on finding articles on topics


...below are some databases that are especially useful for dance topics.

International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance - full text - IBTD full text is the definitive research tool for the study of theatre, dance, and theatrical music. 

Performing Arts Periodicals Database - PAD draws content from hundreds of scholarly and popular performing arts periodicals, including about 20 journals specific to dance.  As an option, IIPA has a  specialized search page designed to search The Arts, which presumably will cover material in the International Index to Music Periodicals database as well. 

Academic Search Ultimate - ASU provides full text for a huge number of scholarly publications covering many areas of study. Journals include Dance Chronicle, Dance Magazine, Dance Research, New Dance Review, Research in Dance Education, and Performing Arts Journal.

Finding specific publications and articles

If you need to find a specific article from a citation, try the Advanced Search option in FrogScholar (FrogScholar is the first search box option on the Library's home page).  If you have the journal/magazine title and/or the volume and issue number of an article, the International Standard Serial Number (ISSN) of the journal or magazine, etc., you can select those options from the "All Fields" boxes and type in that information (you can add as many search rows as you want).  You may also want to select "Items with full text online."  More about finding specific articles and publications

 

Click to see how to browse the TCU Library's dance journal collection.