Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

DANC 10453 - Dance in World Cultures: Home

Welcome to the world of dance!

  The Castles in America Dances! 1897-1948 / Dance in Video database   A Dance the Gods Yearn to Witness / Dance in Video database   Steppin - Cinema Guild, 2005 / www.folkstreams.net ; GV1624.7 A34 S74 (trailer via YouTube)   The Firebird - Royal Ballet, 2002 / Dance in Video database   So You Think You Can Dance, Season 10, Top 12 / YouTube.com   Carmina Burana - Frequent Flyers Productions Aerial Dance Theatre   Dances of LIfe, 2004 / GV1728.P3 D36 2005 ; trailer, YouTube.com  

Research project help

Contact the Dance Research Librarian (below) for lists of books, articles and videos to give you a head start on your term project, or for general library how-tos, help with locating items and more.  Also check out the Ask a Librarian page.

Dance Research Librarian

Profile Photo
Laura Ruede
Contact:
TCU Box 298400, Fort Worth, TX 76129
817-257-7774
Website

Search tools

There are three major tools for finding material for your research projects. Here's a quick summary of those tools. Click on the FrogScholar & the catalog tab above for a further look.

  FrogScholar is a flexible, Google-like search tool available from the search box at library.tcu.edu, accessing everything that the catalog does, PLUS 
most of TCU's databases, connecting you to books, journal and newspaper articles, videos and more.
     
  The TCU Library catalog is a precision tool for obtaining information on books, DVDs, journals and more, with direct access to some online materials 
like ebooks and streaming videos. It does NOT find articles within journals. The catalog is available from the library homepage or library.tcu.edu/catalog.
     
  Databases are specialized collections of online materials such as journal articles, book chapters, images/music/videos, maps, reports, statistics and 
much more. Each database vendor (for example, Alexander Street Press) has its own search interface. Find the databases from the center section at library.tcu.edu.

Area dance events

If you need to attend a dance concert for your class, try attending one of TCU's dance concerts.  For a wider selection of events, KERA's Art & Seek Dance page offers lists of upcoming community events: