LibGuides: Library Resources for TCU Faculty and Staff: Find Gov Info

Government Information

TCU Library Catalog
Look for books by keyword, subject, author or title.

Congressional Publications (ProQuest)
Congressional hearings, public issues, legislation, member biographies, committee assignments, voting records, financial data, and key regulatory and statutory resources. Coverage dates: 1789 - present
HathiTrust
Government information, ebooks, and primary sources from a variety of places, including Google, the Internet Archive, and libraries around the world. Coverage dates: 1850 - present

National Archives Catalog
Database of records and documents from the United States National Archives.
GovInfo
Free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government. Coverage dates: 1993 - present
Core Documents of Our Democracy
TCU research guide providing American citizens with direct online access to the basic Federal Government documents that define our democratic society. These titles contain information about the democratic process that are critical to informed citizens. They support the public's right to know about the essential activities of their Government.

Nexis Uni
News articles, transcripts and wire services for financial, medical, and legal information (and more). Other special features include: company profiles, SEC filings, biographies, country information, federal and state cases, patents, broadcast transcripts, and more. Save searches and annotate documents if you create an account with your TCU email. Coverage dates: 1790 - present
HeinOnline
Government documents and legal research materials: U.S. statutory materials, law reviews, state and federal case law, all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and more. Coverage dates: 1840 - present

Congress.gov
United States legislative information.

Texas State Government Information

Texas.gov
Info about the Texas State government.
Texas Legislature Online
Track and search for legislation in progress, and bills that have become laws in the Texas Legislature.
TRAIL
The Texas Records and Information Locator (TRAIL) service provides access to Texas state government information contained in electronic publications. TRAIL facilitates ready access to the information for Texas citizens and other users.
Texas State Archives and Library Commission (TSLAC)
The official archival records of the Texas Government.

Other Local Government Information

City of Arlington
City of Fort Worth
Local government website with information about the city.
North Central Texas Council of Governments

Citing Government Documents

APA Citation Style does not have a separate category for government publications. According to APA, government documents can be considered Books, Technical/Research Reports or Brochures.

Helpful Tips:

Treat a government document as a book, report, or brochure.
If a person is named on the title page, use her or him as author.
If no person is named, use the government agency, department, or branch as a group author
Give the name of the group author exactly as it appears on the title page. If the branch or agency is not well known, include its higher department first.
If the group author is also the publisher, just use the word Author after the location
If there is a series or report number, include it after the title
The manual refers to the GPO (U.S. Gov. Printing Office). Canadian equivalents may be: Queen’s Printer, Ministry of Supply and Services, Canadian Government Publishing, etc

The Complete Guide to Citing Government Information Resources by Diane L. Garner; Diane H. Smith; Debora Cheney (Contribution by); Helen Sheehy (Contribution by)
Call Number: Z7164.G7 G37 1993
ISBN: 0886922542
Publication Date: 1993-06-01
A detailed style manual prepared by a team of documents librarians representing the Government Documents Round Table of ALA. New chapters cover foreign overnment publications and electronic sources.

Citing U.S. Government Publications
A detailed guide from the Indiana University - Bloomington Libraries on how to cite Government Documents
APA Citation Style, 7th edition: Government Publication
From the Columbia College, Vancouver, Canada.

The Stacks

MAPS of the Stacks

Government stacks (Level 1)

Government stacks (Level 2)

Government stacks (Level 3)

US GOVERNMENT INFORMATION

Other TCU research guides for finding government information:

Core Documents of Our Democracy
TCU research guide providing American citizens with direct online access to the basic Federal Government documents that define our democratic society. These titles contain information about the democratic process that are critical to informed citizens. They support the public's right to know about the essential activities of their Government.
Federal Government Information @ TCU
Finding and using Government Information in the TCU Library and online. The Library has been a depository for federal and Texas state documents for almost 100 years and portions of the collection date as far back as the eighteenth century.
TCU Guide to Presidential Power
This guide emphasizes political structures and constitutional and legal principles that define the parameters of the presidency, as well as the regulatory state that operates within the executive branch. It provides tools to explore how different political and legal structures both empower and limit the executive branch.