Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Resources for TCU Faculty and Staff: Find Books

Find Books in Frog Scholar

To find books using FrogScholar, select "Library Catalog" from the options on the left:

Select "library catalog" from the options on the left in FrogScholar

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Robyn Reid
she / her
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Librarian for: Anthropology, Criminal Justice, Communication Studies, Education, Geography, History, Military Science, Political Science
Contact:
817-257-5337

Search Frog Scholar

Finding books @TCU

Finding New York Times Best Sellers at TCU

This collection is also called our "Popular Reading Collection." To find these books at TCU, use the words: "Popular Reading Collection" (with the quotes) in the TCU Library Catalog to find books in this collection.

eReaders & eBooks

The TCU Library has ebooks! Learn how to connect the library's ebooks to your reading devices.

Finding Books in General

To find books or articles on your topic at TCU, start with your main ideas. If I were interested in finding information about elections for example, I would try words like:

  • Politics

  • Voting

  • Elections

Use quotes to keep phrases together. For example:

  • "Civil rights"
  • "human rights"

Combine ideas to  narrow down your results. For example:

"El Salvador" AND "social movements"

If you know the date of your event, you can add the date into your search. For example:

"Civil Rights" AND "United States" AND 1964

If you want to find books about a certain topic in a particular century, add that century into your search. For example: 

"El Salvador" AND politics AND "20th century"

In addition to searching by topic, you can also search by title or author if you know that information.

Database Searching Tips

PROBLEM: No results found!

FIX : Search individual terms (separate with AND) do not use whole sentences.

Good search:   children AND obesity
Bad search:   children who are overweight

How this works...

Databases search for individual words, not sentences.


PROBLEM: Not enough results found!

FIX : Use a wildcard symbol (*) to increase matches to your keywords.

Example 1:   teen*
Example 2:   wom*n

How this works… 

  • Putting an asterisk after the n* in teen* allows the database to return matches with any word that begins with “teen” like teen, teens, teenage, teenagers and teenaged
  • Putting an asterisk in place of the e / a in wom*n will allow the database to return matches for both terms, woman and women.

PROBLEM: Too many results found!

FIX: Use phrase searching to search for an exact person, place or thing related to your topic. Do this by putting quotation marks around words that need to be in a specific order: 

Example 1:   “Robert William Smith”

Example 2:   “Fairview City Park”

Example 3:   “California Psychological Inventory”

How this works… 

  • Putting quotes around a set of words requires the database to show only results that contain an exact match.