Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Victorian Periodicals in Special Collections: Precursors

Extractor

Extractor, or, Universal Repertorium of Literature. London: J. Ware, 1828-1829. AP4 .E98

Special Collections has issues for November 1, 1828 through February 28, 1829 bound post-production into one volume.

The Friend

The Friend: A Literary, Moral, and Political Weekly Paper, exculding Personal and Party Politics and the Events of the DayLondon, John Brown, 1809-10. Lewis PR4480 .F7 1809.

Edited by Samuel Coleridge. Special Collections houses the full run in original unbound state. Ours are unbound and have a price stamp indicating they cost 3 pence, half penny. 

The Liberal

The Liberal: Verse and Prose from the South. London. Printed by and for J. Hunt, 1822-1823. Lewis AP4 .L415.

This is a little early, but too interesting to pass up. Literary magazine founded by G. Byron, L. Hunt and P. Shelley. "To be continued occasionally.' Special Collections has Numbers 1-4 in original wrappers. Ads in back. 

The New York Public Library has digitized their copies of Numbers 1 and 2. 

The Lounger

The Lounger: A Periodical Paper Published at Edinburgh in the Years 1785 and 1786. London: Printed for J. Richardson & Co., 1822.

Special collections has a later reprint of this eighteenth-century Scottish weekly. Our copies have not been catalogued. Digitized versions are available through British Periodicals Collection I. A reproduction of the original printing is available through Eighteenth Century Collections Online.

The Monthly Review

The Monthly Review. London: Printed for R. Griffiths, 1752-1826. AP4 .M7.

This is a high-brow journal with essays and reviews. 

Special Collections has the following issues in original parts as issued:

New series, Volume 18, numbers 1-4 (September-December, 1795) with appendix.

New series, Volumes 19-21 (January - December, 1796) together with the appendices. 

New series, Volumes 22-23 (January - August, 1797) with appendices.

Each volume comprises four numbers and an appendix. The appendices have an index for the preceding four issues.

The Spectator

The Spectator. London: Samuel Buckley, 1711-1714. uncatalogued. 

This was a daily journal edited by Joseph Addison and Richard Steele. Special Collections holds Numbers 1-555 (Mar. 1, 1711- December 6, 1712). Each number is a single sheet printed in two columns with ads at the end. Ours are bound into a single volume. 

There is a digitized copy available here

The Tatler

The Tatler: The Lucubrations of Isaac Bickerstaff, esq. London: John Morphew, 1709-1711. uncatalogued.

Special Collections has Numbers 1-27 (April 12, 1709 to Jan. 2, 1710.)

There is digitized version available through 18th-century books online.

The Watchman

The Watchman. Bristol: Published by the author, S.T. Coleridge, 1796. Lewis AP3 .W35.

Special Collections has the complete run, from March 1-May 13, 1796. Issues were bound post-production.

Digital reproduction available at Eighteenth Century Collections Online.