Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Victorian Periodicals in Special Collections: British Periodicals

           

Blackwoods Edinburgh Magazine

Blackwoods Edinburgh Magazine. Edinburgh: William Blackwood & Sons, 1817-1905. AP4 .B6

Special Collections has volumes for 1823, 1831, 1839, and 1861.

Digital reproductions are available through the British Periodicals Collection and the American Antiquarian Society. 

See also American Periodicals tab for information about the American edition.

Cornhill

CornhillLondon : Smith, Elder and Co., 1860-1947. AP4 .C8.

An influential monthly literary journal first edited by William Makepiece Thackeray. It has lots of illustrations. Some issues have fold-out plates. Special Collections has several, but not all, volumes bound post-production. Our volumes fall between 1860 and 1921 but is not complete. There are no advertisements. 

Available online through British Periodicals Collection II. 

Fortnightly Review

The Fortnightly Review: London Chapman & Hall, 1865-1934. AP4 .F7.

Edited by George Henry Lewes. Special Collections has the following volumes, all bound post-production with ads removed.

Volume 2, 1865

Volumes 3-4, 1866

Volumes 21-22, 1877

Volume 24, 1878

Volume 25, 1879 

Digital reproduction of full run available through British Periodicals Collection I.

Good Words

Good Words. London : Alexander Strahan and Co., 1860-1906. AP 4 G6 1879

Edited by Donald Macleod, illustrated.

Special Collections only has volume for 1879 (published by Isbister and Co.). It contains "In the hunting field" by Anthony Trollope, not subsequently reprinted.

The entire run is available online through British Periodicals I and the American Antiquarian Society. 

The Grove

The Grove. London: J.E. Taylor and Co., 1867-68. AP4 .G76

“Printed for private circulation,” a literary magazine for a secret society.

The Nineteenth Century

The Nineteenth Century: A Monthly Review. London: Henry S. King & Co., 1877-1900. AP 4 N7 v. 5

 Founded and edited by Sir James Knowles. Publishes essays on politics, literature, and culture. Some poetry. Continued by The Nineteenth Century & After and The Twentieth Century. Note: Special Collections only has Volume 5 from 1879 published by C. Kegan Paul & Co. Each issue in our volume retains original wrappers and advertisements. 

Punch

Punch. London: The Office, 1841-1992. AP101 .P8 

Special Collections has volumes for 1841-1921. These were bound post production.

This long-running highly influential weekly comic magazine was founded by Henry Mayhew and Ebenezer Landells and edited by Mayhew and Mark Lemon. 

Digital reproduction available through 19th Century UK Periodicals.

Quarterly Review

The Quarterly Review. London: John Murray, 1809-1906. AP4 .Q2.

This is a high-brow journal with essays and literature. Special Collections has just one issue, Number 47, published in 1820. It's in original wrappers with its bookseller's ticket and ads in the front and back. 

A digital reproduction is available through American Antiquarian Society and British Periodicals Collections, Series I. 

Red Dragon

The Red Dragon: The National Magazine of Wales. Cardiff: Daniel Owen, Howell and Company, 1882-1887. AP4. .R24.

Edited by Charles Wilkins. Special Collections has the full run bound post production. Ads have been removed.

Saint Paul's

Saint Paul’s: A Monthly Magazine. London: Virtue and Co., 1867-72. AP4 .S15 

Special Collections has volumes 1-3 & 5.

Edited by Anthony Trollope. Fiction and essays with illustrations. Our copies do not have ads. Full run digitized and available through British Periodicals Collection II

Saint James's Magazine

Saint James’s Magazine. London: W. Kent & Co., 1861-, AP4 .S14 

Edited by Mrs. S.C. Hall. Essays, stories, and poems. Illustrated. The original series ran through 1868 at which point a new series was started. Special Collections has v. 2 from 1861. 

Digital reproduction available through British Periodicals Collection II.

The Strand Magazine

The Strand Magazine. London : G. Newnes, 1891-1946.

Special Collections only has the 1892 issue. It has great ads!

Time

Time: A Monthly miscellany of interesting and amusing literature. London: 1879-. PR5821 .A4 T58.

Special Collections holds the first issue, from April 1879, which has the first appearance ever of Oscar Wilde in print--the poem, "A Conqueror of Time."