LibGuides: Music Research Guide: Home

What Do You Need?

If you're writing, you need reference databases and print/e-books! If listening or viewing, you need streaming databases or CDs/DVDs!

Use databases anywhere! Print books are in the library to check out or use here. Some major reference resources are also databases.

M/M Library Hours

Fall Hours!

Sunday: 2 pm - 10 pm

Monday: 8 am - 8 pm

Tuesday: 8 am - 8 pm

Wednesday: 8 am - 10 pm

Thursday: 8 am - 8 pm

Friday: 8 am - 5 pm

Saturday: Closed

WHAT'S NEW?!?!

1) We have Henle Scores Online!!! Search databases H. Set up an account and you're ready to go. Used on mobile devices and tablets. Not desktop computers.

2) Request circulating books about music and physical media to be pulled and placed on hold for you! Takes 24-48 hours for availability. Pick up books on the 2nd floor at Access Services. Pick up media in the M/ML.

3) We are unable to put commercial DVDs into course shells due to copyright and encryption coding. See the Video Resources LibGuide for alternatives. We have a new popular movie license via Swank for classroom streaming. Search the catalog by movie title.

The Best Music Research Databases!

The most often used music databases starting with every researcher's first stop: Grove/Oxford Music Online.

Oxford Music Online (Grove)
The "Encyclopedia Britannica" of music. This is the starting point for almost any music research topic. It is NOT journal articles, but a multi-volume database of topics about music like an encyclopedia. Use the bibliographies at the end of the articles to further your research!

Music Periodicals Database
Full text and abstracts for articles.

Henle Library -- Campus Edition

Online version of Henle published urtext music scores. Requires account set up. Scores are transferable to a personal subscription upon separation from TCU. Use on mobile devices (tablet, ipad). Not compatible with desktop computers. Coverage dates: Current
Music Online
Comprehensive interface that simultaneously cross searches the Alexander Street Press music databases. Coverage dates: Current
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full Text
Online database index of citations and abstracts. Doesn't always have full-text, but it does have citations of print resources not covered elsewhere like conferences, festschrift, reviews, liner notes and other off the beaten path text.
Make sure you click on "full text" if that is all you're interested in.
Rock's Backpages
Primary source articles (reviews, interviews, features) and audio interviews from music and mainstream press (Rolling Stone, NME, etc.) representing all genres of music. Coverage dates: 1950 - present

Subject Guide

Cari Alexander

Email Me

Contact:

Email: c.alexander2@tcu.edu

Phone: 817-257-6623

Subjects: Genealogy, Music

Streaming Options

Met Opera on Demand: Student Access
Video (newer) and audio (older) of full-length Metropolitan Opera performances including HD theater transmissions, classic telecasts and early radio broadcasts. Includes English synopsis and subtitles. Coverage dates: 1936 - present
Music Online: Classical Music Library
Audio tracks covering Classical, jazz, film soundtrack, holiday and world music genres from all time periods. Supplemented by biographical information and links to reference resources (i.e. Grove Music Online). Users must complete a short registry to build playlists and embed external links. Coverage dates: Current
Naxos Music Library
Online version of the Naxos sound recording catalog and other labels covering Medieval to Contemporary music. Notes and biographical information. Playlists may be created. Player does not work on Safari. Coverage dates: Current
Music Online: American Music
Audio music from America's past including Native Americans, immigrants, slaves, pioneers, civil rights, politics, Prohibition, Revolutionary and Civil Wars, anti-war protests and more. Coverage dates: Current

A neat feature of this database is that you can search by historical event. If you need a song from a particular time period or event like the Civil War, the Revolution, the Industrial Age, the Gold Rush, etc. it's easy to find!