Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Video Resources Guide: Linking to your video selections

A guide to finding and using educational and popular video

Video linking through the library catalog

Online (streaming) videos in several of the TCU Library's video databases can be found through the library's online catalog.  These databases include all Ambrose Video and all Alexander Street Press databases - for example, Filmaker's Library, American History in Video and Films on Demand.  To find a permanent (durable) link to your video selection's catalog record (which in turn links to the video), first click on "Full View of Record"
     
 
Then, in the full version of the record, click on "Permanent Link."  Simply highlight and copy the link.
 
 

PLEASE NOTE that  "permanent" links may not be permanent if the catalog record is replaced by a new record, which may happen from time to time. (If this occurs simply find the new record in the catalog and follow the above procedure.) 

The actual video links lie at the bottom of full catalog records, in the green "Location" box. Clicking on the video title in the catalog record will *not* launch the video.

Video linking through databases

The library's databases typically offer special links to online (streaming) videos, to provide an easy means of future access. The links are often presented as "permanent" or "durable" urls or links but occasionally links are obtained by clicking on the word "Share."  In Films on Demand, click "Share," then "Embed/link."  In Alexander Street Press databases you'll find such links by clicking on "Embed/link," and in Insight Media, "Direct link."  The example below from Paley Center Seminars uses "Durable URL."

 

 

The most reliable of these web addresses (urls) will contain the word PURL and/or EZPROXY.  Such links will work from anywhere (on- or off-campus) and from any device (TCU or non-TCU).  When this type of link is clicked, a login box comes up that accepts TCU usernames and passwords, as with the example below. 

http://ezproxy.tcu.edu/login?url=https://search.alexanderstreet.com/flon/view/work/1784466

For database links that don't contain PURL or EZPROXY, such as those in Paley Center Seminars, it will be best to add the following url to the url (link) for the video selection. Place this url before the database video link, with no space between.

http://library.tcu.edu/PURL/EZproxy_link.asp?url=

Thus, for the Paley seminar discussing the film Miss Representation, you'll construct the following link:

https://library.tcu.edu/PURL/EZproxy_link.asp?url=http://gateway.proquest.com/openurl?url_ver=Z39.88-2004&res_dat=xri:paley-us:&rft_dat=xri:paley:video:106393:2:0:0 

 

Alternative formula for constructing durable links:

Copy/paste the database url, available from the databases pages, add a colon [:], then paste in the item link - e.g.

database url + : + item url

https://library.tcu.edu/PURL/connect.asp?HathiTrust:https://hdl.handle.net/2027/yale.39002026282161

(The example above is for a book.)