Scholarly Communications@TCU: Publisher Agreements

The TCU Library is excited to announce that it has signed agreements with scholarly publishers, allowing TCU authors to make their journal articles open access (OA) at no cost or at a discount. These agreements are sometimes called "transformative agreements."

• Please use the TCU Journal Guide to identify eligible journals.
• Looking for other OA methods of financial support? Please check out all our OA support options.
• Questions? Please contact libscholarlycommunication@tcu.edu.

TCU authors publishing articles in ACM conferences, journals, and magazines may make their article Open Access without the need to pay an Article Processing Charge. Details:

• Corresponding Author must be a current TCU faculty, staff, or student. When submitting your manuscript, select TCU as your affiliation and use your TCU email address.
• Includes nearly all ACM conferences, journals, and magazines. More information. 
• There is no limit on the number of articles that may be published under this agreement.

TCU authors publishing in Cambridge University Press journals may make their article Open Access without the need to pay an Article Processing Charge.

• Corresponding Author must be a TCU student, or paid faculty or staff. When submitting your manuscript, select TCU as your affiliation.
• Must be original research -- eligible article types are research articles, review articles, rapid communications, brief reports and case reports.
• When your article is accepted, choose the Gold Open Access option in your publishing agreement form and select a Creative Commons License.
• Includes nearly all journals published by Cambridge University Press. For the full list, go to https://www.cambridge.org/core/eligibility-checker and select Texas Christian University.
• Articles must be accepted for publication before December 31, 2028. There is no limit on the number of articles that may be published under this agreement.

TCU authors publishing articles in Company of Biologists journals may make their article Open Access without the need to pay an Article Processing Charge. Details:

• Corresponding Author must be a TCU student, or paid faculty or staff
• When submitting your manuscript, select TCU as your affiliation and use your TCU email address.
• Includes all journals published by the Company of Biologists: https://www.biologists.com/
• There is no limit on the number of articles that may be published under this agreement.

TCU authors publishing articles in Elsevier/Science Direct journals may make their article Open Access at a discounted rate of 10-15% off the article processing charge (APC). Includes most, but not all Elsevier journals.

Details:

• Corresponding Author must be a TCU student, or paid faculty or staff
• When submitting your manuscript, select TCU as your affiliation and use your TCU email address.
• Includes most, but not all Elsevier journals. To check eligibility, use this website: https://agreements.journals.elsevier.com/tcu.
• The Elsevier agreement treats Hybrid OA journals and Fully OA journals differently:
  • Hybrid OA Journals: APC discount of 15%.
  • Fully OA Journals: APC discount of 10%. For fully OA journals that meet the qualifications for the TCU OA Fund, you may also apply to have the remainder of the fee covered by the fund.
• Articles must be accepted for publication before December 31, 2025. There is no limit on the number of articles that may be published under this agreement.

TCU authors publishing articles in Institute of Physics (IOP) journals may make their article Open Access without the need to pay an Article Processing Charge. This opportunity is possible because of an agreement between TCU, Oxford, and the SCELC library consortium. Details:

• Corresponding Author must be a TCU student, or paid faculty or staff
• When submitting your manuscript, select TCU as your affiliation and use your TCU email address.
• Includes most, but not all journals published by IOP. Visit this site https://iopp.chronoshub.io/ and enter Texas Christian University as the institution to see a list of IOP journals and information about each specific journal's terms.
• Articles must be accepted for publication before December 31, 2028. There is a cap on the number of articles that can be made OA under this program. The cap is shared among all SCELC-affiliated libraries. We do not expect to exhaust the full amount this year.

TCU authors publishing articles in Oxford University Press journals may make their article Open Access with a discounted or waived Article Processing Charge. This opportunity is possible because of an agreement between TCU, Oxford, and the SCELC library consortium. Details:

• Corresponding author must be a TCU student or paid faculty or staff. When submitting your manuscript, you must select TCU as your primary affiliation and use your TCU email address. 
• View SCELC's information page for more guidance on how to use this funding opportunity.
• Includes almost all Oxford journals. See the list of journals covered.
• The Oxford agreement treats hybrid OA journals and fully OA journals differently:
  • Hybrid OA journals: The agreement starts by paying $1,000 towards the APC. 
    • Then, if you do not have grant funds available, you can request coverage of the entire APC. We project that most requests would be approved.
    • If you do have grant funds available, you are expected to pay the remainder over $1,000 with grant funding.
  • Fully OA journals: The agreement pays $750 towards the APC. For fully OA journals that also meet the qualifications for the TCU OA Fund, you may apply to have the remainder of the fee covered by the fund. 
• Articles must be accepted for publication by December 31, 2028. There is no limit on the number of articles as part of this agreement.
• All funding is subject to approval. Funding amounts subject to change.

TCU authors publishing articles in Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) journals may make their article Open Access at a discounted rate 15% off the article processing charge (APC). Includes most, but not all RSC journals. Details:

• Corresponding author must be a TCU student or paid faculty or staff. When submitting your manuscript, select TCU as your affiliation and use your TCU email address.
• Includes nearly all RSC journals. Visit https://rsc.chronoshub.io/ to see the specifics of which journals are included.
• For fully OA journals that meet the qualifications for the TCU OA Fund, you may also apply to have the remainder of the fee covered by the fund.
• Articles must be accepted for publication before December 31, 2025. There is no limit on the number of articles that may be published under this agreement.
• Important: Starting January 1, 2026, the terms of our agreement with RSC will change. The new terms will appear on this site in January. Please reach out to Jeff Bond (j.bond@tcu.edu) if you would like to learn more about the changes in advance of the new year.

TCU authors publishing articles in Wiley journals may make their article Open Access without the need to pay an Article Processing Charge. Details:

• Responsible corresponding author must be a TCU student or paid faculty or staff.
• When submitting your manuscript, select TCU as your affiliation and use your TCU email address.
• Includes nearly all Wiley journals. Journals that appear on at least one of the spreadsheets below are included:
  • Traditional/Hybrid journals: https://authorservices.wiley.com/asset/Wiley-Journal-APCs-OnlineOpen.xlsx
  • Fully Open Access journals: https://authorservices.wiley.com/asset/Wiley-Journal-APCs-Open-Access.xlsx
• TCU authors may collectively publish up to 60 articles without any Article Processing Charge during the calendar year. We do not expect to exhaust the full amount this year. Articles must be accepted for publication by December 31, 2026.