Scholarly Communications@TCU: Open Infrastructure Investments

Crossref is an organization that develops scholarly communication infrastructure, most prominently managing the generation of digital object identifiers (DOI numbers) for journal articles and other online publications. TCU benefits from Crossref membership through the ability to create DOI numbers for TCU generated content.

DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) is an index of online open access journals. DOAJ journals go through an extensive vetting process before being admitted to the directory.

HathiTrust is a collaborative repository of online content from a variety of large libraries around the world.

Open Library of Humanities is an OA journal publisher with no article processing charges, focusing on content in the social sciences and humanities.

Open Book Publishers is an OA book publisher with no required publisher fees which publishes in a wide variety of subjects.

ORCID (Open Researcher and Contributor ID) is an organization which supports scholarly communication infrastructure, most prominently by the creation of ORCID numbers. ORCID numbers serve as a unique numerical identifier for individual researchers and contributors.

PhilPapers is database of journal articles in the subject of philosophy, and hosts the largest OA archive in the field. The PhilPapers database indexes millions of papers in philosophy and related fields.

Portico serves as a safeguard for access to online journals, books, and other scholarly content. Portico provides access to digital content when it discovers the original publisher has discontinued displaying the resource.

SPARC (Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition) is an organization that advocates and supports the open movement which includes open access, open data, and open educational resources.