Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Teaching Social Studies: Home

Guide to information for students learning how to teach Social Studies.

Welcome Message

Welcome to this research guide in Teaching Social Studies. I am Robyn Reid, the librarian for education topics. In this research guide, you will find recommendations on where to look for resources to help you teach social studies. 

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Robyn Reid
she / her
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Librarian for: Anthropology, Criminal Justice, Communication Studies, Education, Geography, History, Military Science, Political Science
Contact:
817-257-5337

Search Frog Scholar

Search for books, articles, movies, or music:

Credible Historical Overviews

Salem Press Online

Contains encyclopedias, reference works, primary source documents, and books. Coverage dates: Prehistory - Current

Salem Press Logo

Credo Reference

Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles.

Credo Reference Logo

Oxford Reference Online

Brings together 100+ renowned dictionaries and reference works. Cross-searchable access to comprehensive coverage 20+ subject areas.

Oxford Reference Logo

Recommended Databases

Education Source

Peer-reviewed journal articles for topics in Education. Coverage dates: 1929-Current.

Education Source Logo

ERIC

A database provided by the U.S. Department of Education and contains citations and abstracts from over 1000 education journals.

ERIC Logo

JSTOR

An electronic journal collection consisting of the full text of back issues of journals in many different subject areas. It is especially strong in Arts and Sciences.Coverage dates: Varies.

JSTOR Logo

America: History and Life

America: History and Life with Full Text covers the history of the United States and Canada from prehistoric times to the present. Limited to 6 users at once.

America: History and Life Logo

Slavery, Abolition, & Social Justice

Primary and secondary sources on slavery, abolition, and social justice.

Slavery, Abolition, & Social Justice Database Logo

Search Tips

Venn diagram demonstrates how to use AND to connect two keywords

Using "AND"

Use the word AND to connect words together. Instead of searching for: History of World War II, type:

"World War II" AND history

Venn diagram of two overlapping circles to demonstrate how to connect words with OR

Using "OR"

Use "OR" to broaden your search by looking for two related terms. For example:

"Great Britain" OR England