Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to this research guide in Teaching Social Studies. I am Robyn Reid, the librarian for education topics. In this research guide, you will find recommendations on where to look for resources to help you teach social studies.
she / her
Comparative Race and Ethnic Studies
History, Latin America
History, Middle East
History, North America
Latin American Studies
Search Frog Scholar
Search for books, articles, movies, or music:
Credible Historical Overviews
Contains encyclopedias, reference works, primary source documents, and books. Coverage dates: Prehistory - Current
Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles.
Brings together 100+ renowned dictionaries and reference works. Cross-searchable access to comprehensive coverage 20+ subject areas.
Peer-reviewed journal articles for topics in Education. Coverage dates: 1929-Current.
A database provided by the U.S. Department of Education and contains citations and abstracts from over 1000 education journals.
An electronic journal collection consisting of the full text of back issues of journals in many different subject areas. It is especially strong in Arts and Sciences.Coverage dates: Varies.
America: History and Life with Full Text covers the history of the United States and Canada from prehistoric times to the present. Limited to 6 users at once.
Primary and secondary sources on slavery, abolition, and social justice.
Use the word AND to connect words together. Instead of searching for: History of World War II, type:
"World War II" AND history
Use "OR" to broaden your search by looking for two related terms. For example:
"Great Britain" OR England