LibGuides: Latin American Politics: Find Data & Statistics

Data & Statistics Best Bets

DataPlanet

International statistics and datasets for a wide variety of topics including agriculture, criminal justice, politics, education, business, sociology, census, transportation, consumer behavior, and more. Data can be exported. Coverage dates: 1970 - present

Statista Pro

International and domestic statistics, infographics, and market data for a wide variety of topics. Contains reports for industries, digital trends, politics, countries, and more. Statistics can be exported. Coverage dates: 2008 - present

Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)

Dataset archive from an international consortium of academic institutions and research organizations. Coverage dates: 1790 - present

Social Explorer

Analyze data from the U.S. Census, the American Community Survey, Religious Studies, FBI and Uniform Crime Reports, and more. Users can export data to a variety of statistical programs. Coverage dates: 1790 - present

Aggregate Data Finders

Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
Dataset archive from an international consortium of academic institutions and research organizations. Coverage dates: 1790 - present
DataPlanet
International statistics and datasets for a wide variety of topics including agriculture, criminal justice, politics, education, business, sociology, census, transportation, consumer behavior, and more. Create tables, maps, rankings, and pie charts. Data can be exported. Coverage dates: 1970 - present

The Quality of Government Institute - QoG Datasets
See codebook for comprehensive list of links to political science datasets on pretty much any political topic you can think of.

DataFinder from the Population Reference Bureau
A database with hundreds of variables for the US and the world.

Harvard Dataverse
Access the world's largest collection of social science research data here by searching across or browsing through one of the virtual data archives (called "dataverses") listed below. Data is uploaded by researchers from around the world.
UC San Diego Dataverse
Miscellaneous datasets housed at UC San Diego. Includes:
Data on Terrorist Suspects (DOTS)
Field (California) Poll, 1956 - [Latest Release]
International Country Risk Guide: Table 3B: Political Risk Points by Component
International Terrorism: Attributes of Terrorist Events (ITERATE), 1968 - [most recent]
Latin American Public Opinion Project (LAPOP) 1978-2003 [Repository Data]
POLIDATA Presidential Results by Congressional District (PRCD)

Eurobarometer
Public opinion polls conducted by the European Commission. Surveys and studies address major topics concerning European citizenship: enlargement, social situation, health, culture, information technology, environment, the Euro, defense, etc.
European Social Survey
An academically driven cross-national survey conducted across Europe since 2001. The survey measures the attitudes, beliefs and behaviour patterns of diverse populations in more than thirty nations. Data can be analyzed online or downloaded.
GDELT Project Analysis
A variety of tools and services that allow you to visualize, explore, and export the Global Database of Events, Language, and Tone (GDELT) project - a realtime database of global society.
International Social Survey Programme (ISSP)
Cross-national collaboration program that conducts annual surveys on diverse topics relevant to social sciences.
World Bank Data Catalog
Search for datasets by region/country.
World Values Survey
The series is designed to enable a crossnational comparison of values and norms on a wide variety of topics and to monitor changes in values and attitudes across the globe. A variety of questions on religion and morality were included. Data is currently available at ICPSR for 1981-1984, 1990-1993, 1995-1997, and 1999-2004.

Comparative Study of Electoral Systems (CSES)
A collaborative program of research among election study teams from around the world. Participating countries and provinces include a common module of survey questions in their post-election studies. The resulting data are deposited along with voting, demographic, district and macro/electoral system variables. The studies are then merged into a single, free, public dataset for use in comparative study and cross-level analysis.
Constituency-Level Elections Archive
A repository of detailed election results at the constituency level for lower house legislative elections from around the world.
IDEA: International Institute for Democracy and Electoral Assistance
Provides a number of databases on electoral systems, democracy, political parties, and voter turnout in nations around the world.

Learn more about data

SAGE Research Methods Datasets
Datasets with instructional guides that give students a chance to learn data analysis by practicing themselves. Indexed by method and data type. Coverage dates: Current

Finding Data & Statistics

We have created a separate guide for finding data and statistical information, most of which is relevant to political science. To access this information, please see our Research Guide for finding Data & Statistics.

Subject Guide

Robyn Reid

she / her

Email Me

Contact:

817-257-5337