Skip to Main Content

Children's Literature: Diversity Awards

For students taking children's literature classes

Diversity Awards Highlights

Unspeakable: The Tulsa Race Massacre

Coretta Scott King Award, 2022
Caldecott Honor Book, 2022

My City Speaks

Schneider Family Award, 2022

¡vamos! Let's Cross the Bridge

Pura Belpre Illustrator Award Winner, 2022

Grandad's Camper

Stonewall Honor Book, 2022





Stonewall Book Awards include both young adult and children's books. For 2022, the Stonewall winner and additional honor books fall into the young adult category. See the Stonewall winner and additional honor books on the Young Adult Literature research guide



About the Awards

The American Library Association gives book awards in several categories that honor diverse populations and cultures in young adult and children's literature. I have selected a few of these awards to highlight and include in the TCU Library Collection.

The Corretta Scott King Awards are given to African American authors and illustrators who demonstrate an appreciation of African American culture and universal human values.

The Pura Belpre Book Award is presented annually to a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose work best portrays, affirms, and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth.

The Schneider Family Book Awards honor an author or illustrator for a book that embodies an artistic expression of the disability experience for child and adolescent audiences.

 The Stonewall Book Awards honor books for exceptional merit relating to the gay/lesbian/bisexual/transgender experience.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Robyn Reid
she / her
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Librarian for: Anthropology, Criminal Justice, Communication Studies, Education, Geography, History, Military Science, Political Science, Sociology