Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Children's Literature: Texas Bluebonnet Award

For students taking children's literature classes

About Texas Bluebonnets at TCU

TCU has some but not all of the Texas Bluebonnet award winners. All award winners and nominated books can be found at the Texas Bluebonnet Awards site.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Robyn Reid
she / her
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Librarian for: Anthropology, Criminal Justice, Communication Studies, Education, Geography, History, Military Science, Political Science

Most Recent Winners

If I Built a School

Texas Bluebonnet Award, 2021

El Chupacabras

Texas Bluebonnet Award, 2020

Sergeant Reckless

Texas Bluebonnet Award, 2019

2022 Bluebonnets

2023 Bluebonnets

About the Texas Bluebonnet Award

The Texas Bluebonnet Award is awarded annually by the Texas Library Association (TLA) which honors outstanding books for third - sixth graders. The award was created by Janell Avenelle Paris in 1979 through her work with the Children's Round Table at TLA and the Texas Association of School Librarians.

Suggestions for the award are accepted by the Texas Bluebonnet Selection Committee, who annually creates the Texas Bluebonnet Master Reading List of 20 books.

Students in grades 3-6 read these books a part of the Bluebonnet Reading program at their schools and vote on their favorites. The winner is the book with the most votes.