1. Browse print and e-journal titles via the catalog by going to the catalog (the center search box tab at http://library.tcu.edu; select "more search options") and try a Basic search for danc* selecting Journals/Newspapers/Magazines (including online) from the Format drop-down box. The asterisk (*) allows for alternate word endings, e.g. dance, dancers, dancing, and so on. Other topic words may prove more useful, however, depending on your area of interest, for example, choreograph* or ballet. This type of search will access records for both print and electronic (online) publications. If too many hits are obtained, try using a "Subject words" search instead of "Words anywhere."
2. Browse print-only dance journal titles (or print titles that also have online equivalents) by doing a Basic search for call number "GV 1580" with Journals/Newspapers/Magazines" selected (select "Call Number" from the Index drop-down box.) Note that this method will not pick up dance-related publications in other call number areas, such as the Journal of Dance Medicine and Science, call number RC 1220 D35 J68.
3. Browse only electronic (online) dance journal titles either by a) doing an Advanced search for "danc*" (and/or other appropriate words such as ballet* and choreograph*), selecting Format Journals/Newspapers/Magazines (online only) or b) using the "Music, Dance, Drama & Film" selection in the "Browse e-journals by subject" box on the E-journals web page and selecting "Dance." The E-journals web page is a Quick Link at http://library.tcu.edu.
If you're looking for material on a topic, and the material can be from any journal or other scholarly source, the Library's subscription databases are excellent tools. Most databases nowadays offer full-text articles and many even offer online books or book chapters. In databases you can search freely on a multitude of topics, limiting by date, type of material or other criteria. To see database choices you can start with the Databases page and browse by category ("Dance," "History" etc.) or material type ("Ebooks," "Newspapers..."), or use one of the databases listed below (recommended for dance research, in addition to Dance encyclopedias). For the highest quality search results, select "peer reviewed" on the database search page (most databases have this option). Database results often include full text of articles, book segments, thesis papers and such, so that you can just click and read, but sometimes only an article citation (article title, author, journal title etc.) appears. When you have a citation and want to get the article, go to the TCU Library catalog and locate the journal by its title, using the instructions in the right-hand column on this page, then find the article within the journal. If the library doesn't have the specific journal you need, Interlibrary Loan is an option, or you can visit another area library by using a TexShare card.
For more in-depth help on using databases to find articles, try the TCU Library's Searchpath Tutorial (Library 101) or Ask a Librarian.
If you need to find a specific article from a citation, try entering the details in the Advanced Search option in FrogScholar (FrogScholar is the first search box option on the Library's home page). You may also want to select "Items with full text online." If you don't find your article this way, use the TCU Library catalog (the center search box tab at http://library.tcu.edu; select "More search options") to search for the journal or magazine title (as distinct from the article title). If the publication you need is available online, simply click the link in the catalog record to connect to the publication, then find the correct year, volume and/or month to access the article and/or search for the article's title. If the library has the publication in print, use the call number to locate the correct issue of the publication in the first floor Current Periodicals Reading room (usually the most recent issues) only. Older print issues that have been bound like books are usually requestable from the Bolt St. Library Annex - find the publication title in the catalog in order to make a request (for example, print issues of Dance Magazine). More help with searching for a particular article can be found within the library's SearchPath Tutorial (Library 101), or you may wish to Ask a Librarian.
Articles from journals, magazines or newspapers that the TCU Library does not own or have access to through databases can be requested via Interlibrary Loan. If you haven't two weeks or so to wait for Interlibrary Loan, you can locate the journal title in the Worldcat database, available from the Databases page, in order to find the nearest libraries with the publication. Within Worldcat, search for the publication's title with "Serial publications" selected. When you find a record for the publication, click on the Worldcat "Libraries" tab to see if any nearby libraries have the publication. You can obtain a TexShare card to gain access to other area libraries.
Click to see how to browse the TCU Library's dance journal collection.
