Generally speaking, "encyclopedia" refers to works organized like a dictionary with longer, possibly even definitive, articles, and "dictionary" denotes works organized around terminology and proper names, with fairly brief explanations, but don't assume this is always the case. Some dictionaries are more like encyclopedias! Reference works such as specialized dictionaries and encyclopedias are excellent ways of getting to know a subject, deepening or updating knowledge, or even choosing a subject for research. Online encyclopedia articles typically offer bibliographies and links to other articles of interest, plus pre-formulated citations you can use in your own bibliography.
Searching for reference works on dance
One means of searching for reference works on dance is to select "Advanced search" in the catalog. Then put your topic word(s) into a "Words anywhere" search box, for example, danc* OR ballet* OR choreograph* . Select "Subject words" on another line and type encyclopedias OR dictionaries OR handbooks. You can always search for just encyclopedias if you prefer fewer results. You can also sort results by title or other details.
In many cases the best biographies will be obtained by subject-searching the library catalog for books on a particular person, or searching databases for biographical articles. You can also try the subject headings Dancers (or Ballet dancers or Male dancers or Women dancers), Choreographers or other appropriate categories. You can also consult reference works such as Dancers and Choreographers: a Selected Bibliography, below, for lists of such works, in addition to other biographical works below. When using biographical information carefully note the publication dates of the material you're using and realize that you may need to seek updated biographical information in more recently published articles or books.
