Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Quick Links to the History related listing of Library databases. Also quick links to some of the more useful historical databases.
American Civil War Research Database
Contains photographs, and information about soldiers, regiments, and battles of the Civil War in America. Coverage dates: 1861-1865
Listing of libraries/archives, many with excellent genealogy resources. Coverage is academic institutions, state, national and international libraries and archives.
Best Subscription Databases
Create your tree using tons of records from all over the place! Free trial and then subscription required.
If you're here, then you think family is important and you're curious about yours. The Who, What and Why of it all. Did they do anything cool? I scan our pictures trying to see the passage of the gene pool through facial features and it amazes me when a face four generations away is identical to a current cousin. Enjoy our LibGuide to help navigate the plethora of genealogy resources. It's a rewarding, but maddening detective story discovering the truth.
This guide is still a HUGE work in progress. All suggestions, especially of websites that are useful on this guide are great!!
Best Free Databases
It's the "So and So's List" for genealogy! Lots of good sites all in one place.
These are in alphabetical order... not order of awesomeness or geographically or anything.
Free database sponsored by the Latter Day Saints, one of the foremost genealogical institutions in the world. Excellent organization with readily accessible information and links when searching about geographical areas, background information regarding census or other hard to find details.
Find A Grave
Thousands of entries from cemeteries all over the US. Headstone photos, personal descriptions, photos and obituaries, GPS coordinates, links to other relatives.
Midwest Genealogy Center
The Midwest Genealogy Center (MGC) is one of the nation's preeminent resources for family history, providing access to almost three-quarter of a million on-site materials.
National Archives and Records Administrations (NARA)
National archives including census, immigration, land and military records.
New England Historic Genealogical Society
Dating from 1845, the NEHGS was the first genealogical society established in the US. Contains MANY of the earliest records from the Northeast, especially Massachusetts and Rhode Island.
Texas General Land Office
Records and interactive maps involving Texas land. As with all things Texas, we're unique in our land records and original land grants!
Texas State Archives Genealogy Section
The resources of the Texas State Archives for genealogical research. Military records, land records, Republic records.
The Texas State Handbook Online
Excellent resource for all things Texas including county and city historical information.