Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Mergent Intellect Private and public company info, industry news, industry profiles, and demographics.
I always start with Mergent Intellect because it tells me whether it is a private or public company, whether or not I am looking at information on the headquarters, and finally, whether my company is a subsidiary or parent company.
Unique feature is the ability to create a spreadsheet comparing financial aspects (of your choosing) of several companies. Info on Public companies only.
Morningstar Investment Research Center
Only allows 2 users at a time. The most analyst verbage of any company database we have.
Business Insights: Essentials
Has both public and private companies. Some global. Will give a product listing (although not always comprehensive) for companies.
Databases for Economic History
You can find reliable information about economic history in several of the library's databases. I'm listing these in your instructor's order of preference! Different databases have different articles, so consider searching more than one.
Click the info icon to get helpful hints for searching that particular database.
America: History and Life with Full Text
Only allows 6 users at once. Lovett loves it! This is an EBSCOhost database. Contains articles on the history of the U.S. and Canada from prehistoric times to present.
On the first page, look for the Historical Period limiting option (tell it what time period you are wanting to search). Add the word economic* to a search box since this is not an economics database!
EconLit with Full Text
Only allows 4 users at once. Lovett loves it! This is an EBSCOhost database.
Limit to Journal/Scholarly articles pre or post search. Don't limit to full text...use the "check for full text resources" link instead.
Check off all the EBSCOhost databases in this list and search them all at once. Some individual database features (like the Historical Period limiter in America:History & Life) are lost when you use this option.
Only contains scholarly/journal articles. Multi-disciplinary in nature
Business Source Complete
This is an EBSCOhost database. Even though it is business oriented, it still contains many economic publications.
This is an EBSCOhost database. Even though it is oriented towards Sociology, there are still many economic articles.
Ulrich's Periodicals Directory
Use this to find out if your publication is a scholarly journal. It will have a Refereed symbol next to it (see legend on top right) if it is a journal.