Skip to main content

Economic History: The Basics

A guide to research resources for Lovett's Economic History class

Beginning Your Research

Here are a few basic tips to get you started in your research:

1.  Your instructor has a STRONG preference for journal articles.  Start with the databases first since this is the easiest place to find journal articles.

2. A.  Because you are doing historical (as well as economic) research, DON'T limit your publication dates!  An article about 1842 could have been written in 2010.  

    B.  However, if the database allows, DO limit to the Historical Period you are seeking.  The database, America: History and Life" allows you to do this on the initial search page.  

3. Several of the databases I am recommending are published by EBSCOhost.  Use the EBSCOhost link on the databases tab, and then click all the EBSCOhost databases I recommend and search them all at once! 

4. Ask me.  I'll be happy to either help you get started or help you find a specific piece of information you are needing.  Really- helping you is my favorite part of this job.

Finding Databases from the Library website

You can use this guide to access databases for this class assignment

But suppose you have another assignment?  Which database(s) should you use for that?
Check out the videos below for how to find the best databases....

 

Using FrogScholar                     Getting to the Databases 

Finding Books

Subject Guide

Diana Boerner's picture
Diana Boerner
Chat unavailable.
Contact:
817-257-5336

My Hours

Typical Work Week:

Monday: 1pm-10pm (research help desk from 5-10pm)

Tuesday, Thursday & Friday: 8am-5pm

Wednesday: 7:30am-4:30pm