Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Art & Design eBookshelf: Home

TCU Library eBooks

Art & Design eBookseBook reader image

Portraiture

Negative exposures : knowing what not to know in contemporary China / Margaret Hillenbrand.
The warrior, the voyager, and the artist : three lives in an age of empire / Kate Fullagar.
The lives of paintings : presence, agency and likeness in Venetian art of the sixteenth century
Jefferson on display : attire, etiquette, and the art of presentation / G.S. Wilson.
Race experts : sculpture, anthropology, and the American public in Malvina Hoffman’s (start italics) Races of mankind (end italics) / Linda Kim.
The portrait’s subject : inventing inner life in the nineteenth-century United States / Sarah Blackwood.
Gaming representation : race, gender, and sexuality in video games / edited by Jennifer Malkowski and
Imaging identity : media, memory and portraiture in the digital age / edited by Melinda Hinkson.
On the lips of others : Moteuczoma’s fame in Aztec monuments and rituals / Patrick Thomas Hajovsky.

More eBooks!

TCU Library eBook Support

Artists

Sculpture

Gods and robots : myths, machines, and ancient dreams of technology / Adrienne Mayor.
A Sisterhood of Sculptors
Enid Yandell : Kentucky’s pioneer sculptor by Juilee Decker.
Sacred art : Catholic saints and Candomblee gods in modern Brazil
Saints, statues, and stories : a folklorist looks at the religious art of Sonora / James S. Griffith ; with research associate Francisco Javier Manzo Taylor.
Screening statues : sculpture and cinema
The hegemony of heritage [electronic resource] : ritual and the record in stone / Deborah L. Stein.
Standing soldiers, kneeling slaves : race, war, and monument in nineteenth-century America / Kirk Savage.
Anthropomorphizing the cosmos : Middle Preclassic lowland Maya figurines, ritual, and time / Prudence M. Rice.
Entering the Dharmadhātu : a study of the Gandavyūha reliefs of Borobudur / Jan Fontein.
The Lives of Chinese Objects : Buddhism, Imperialism and Display / Louise Tythacott.

Ceramics

Ceramics, cuisine and culture : the archaeology and science of kitchen pottery in the ancient Mediterranean world / edited by Michela Spataro and Alexandra Villing.
Athenian Potters and Painters
Global Clay
Mirrors of clay : reflections of ancient Andean life in ceramics from the Sam Olden Collection
Obsession : Sir William Van Horne’s Japanese ceramics / edited by Ron Graham.
The Origins and Use of the Potter's Wheel in Ancient Egypt
Ceramics by Philip Rawson.
Painting pots, painting people : late Neolithic ceramics in ancient Mesopotamia
Artistic Ambivalence in Clay
Creole clay : heritage ceramics in the contemporary Caribbean / Patricia J. Fay.
The Hellenistic and Roman fine pottery
Ceramics and the Spanish conquest [electronic resource] : response and continuity of indigenous pottery technology in Central Mexico / by Gilda Hernández Sánchez.
The Emergence of Pottery in West Asia
The Bronze Age begins : the ceramics revolution of early Minoan I and the new forms of wealth that transformed prehistoric society / by Philip P. Betancourt.

New Art & Design eBooks

The Michiana potters : art, community, and collaboration in the Midwest
A revolution in movement : dancers, painters, and the image of modern Mexico / K. Mitchell Snow.
Dissimilar similitudes : devotional objects in late Medieval Europe
Art, Science, and Craft of Great Landscape Photography, 2nd Edition
The Obama Portraits
Yumeji modern : designing the everyday in twentieth-century Japan
The Chinese Atlantic  : seascapes and the theatricality of globalization
The Female Secession : art and the decorative at the Viennese Women’s Academy
Daniel Johnston : a portrait of the artist as a potter in North Carolina by Henry Glassie.
Cybernetic-Existentialism
Real Likenesses : Representation in Paintings, Photographs, and Novels
Anna of Denmark: The material and visual culture of the Stuart courts, 1589–1619 (Studies in Design and Material Culture)
Art in England: the Saxons to the Tudors, 600-1600
West African Masking Traditions and Diaspora Masquerade Carnivals
The Place of Many Moods Udaipur’s Painted Lands and India’s Eighteenth Century
The Little Art Colony and US Modernism
Angel de Cora, Karen Thronson, and the Art of Place
Songs of nature : John Sallis on paintings - Cao Jun
Troubling images : visual culture and the politics of Afrikaner nationalism
Transcending patterns : silk road cultural and artistic interactions through central Asian textile images
The Making of a Caribbean Avant-Garde Postmodernism as Post-nationalism
What the Emperor Built: Architecture and Empire in the Early Ming by Aurelia Campbell

Daily Life

Art, artisans & apprentices: apprentice painters & sculptors in the early modern British tradition by Ayres, James 2014 Modeling life : art models speak about nudity, sexuality, and the creative process / Sarah R. Phillips.
Rolland Golden: life, love, and art in the French Quarter

TCU Library eBook Support

More eBooks!

TCU Library eBook Support

Art Psychology eBooks

Jung on art : the autonomy of the creative drive / Tjeu van den Berk.
The portrait’s subject : inventing inner life in the nineteenth-century United States / Sarah Blackwood.
mages at work: the material culture of enchantment / David Morgan.
Cognitive iconology : when and how psychology explains images / Ian Verstegen
Reductionism in art and brain science : bridging the two cultures / Eric R. Kandel.
David to Delacroix : the rise of romantic mythology / Dorothy Johnson.
David to Delacroix : the rise of romantic mythology / Dorothy Johnson.
The Psychology of Contemporary Art.  Published: Cambridge University Press, 2013.
Art and madness / José Guimón ; translated by Eoin McGirr and Mervyn Henderson.
The Artist’s Mind : a Psychoanalytic Perspective on Creativity, Modern Art and Modern Artists.
A psychoanalytic approach to visual artists / James W. Hamilton.

Art & Design Reference eBooks

The Grove Encyclopedia of Decorative Arts
Historical Dictionary of Contemporary Art
The Oxford Dictionary of Art
Grove Art
The Thames and Hudson Encyclopedia of British Art
The Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture
The Grove Encyclopedia of Northern Renaissance Art
A Biographical Dictionary of Artists

Books & eBooks selected by TCU Art & Design Faculty

Art & Queer Culture
Art As Biblical Commentary
Marketing the arts : a fresh approach / edited by Daragh O’Reilly and Finola Kerrigan.
Oscar G. Rejlander - Artist Photographer
Understanding Illuminated Manuscripts
Coloring the Caribbean
High Culture and Tall Chimneys
Textiles, Community and Controversy
The Deceivers
Intersections of Contemporary Art, Anthropology and Art History in South Asia
Frank Kunert: Topsy-Turvy World
Don't Have Feelings, Don't Make a Scene
Schizoanalytic Ventures at the End of the World
Creating Art Science Collaboration
Eighteenth-Century Art Worlds
Non-Representational Theory and the Creative Arts
Breaking the Frames
On Christian Iconography
Textiles and wealth in 14th Century Florence. Wool, silk, painting.
The Biology of Art
Cocoons
Moon
Vija Celmins
Lola Álvarez Bravo
Landscapes of the Itza
Mexican Costumbrismo
Arts Programming for the Anthropocene
Typeset in the Future
Painting As Medicine in Early Modern Rome
Richard Wentworth : Making Do and Getting By
Painting and Narrative in France, from Poussin to Gauguin
The Black Trilogy
Popular Modernism and Its Legacies
Digital Middle East
Gauguin's Challenge
Arts Therapies and New Challenges in Psychiatry

Drawing eBooks

Drawing boundaries : architectural images in Qing China / Anita Chung.
Writing on Drawing
Divine diagrams : the manuscripts and drawings of Paul Lautensack (1477/78-1558) / by Berthold Kress
Enabling Children's Learning Through Drawing
Figured Ostraca from New Kingdom Egypt
Drawing: The enactive evolution of the practitioner

TCU Library eBook Support

Painting

Epic Landscapes
Russian realisms : literature and painting, 1840-1890 / Molly Brunson.
The efficacious landscape : on the authorities of painting at the Northern Song court / Foong Ping.
Mirroring the Japanese empire : the male figure in yōga painting, 1930-1950 / by Maki Kaneko.
English painting / Ernest Chesneau.
The making of the artist in late Timurid painting by Lamia Balafrej
In the palace of Nezahualcoyotl : painting manuscripts, writing the pre-Hispanic past in early colonial period Tetzcoco,
Painting the gospel : black public art and religion in Chicago / Kymberly N. Pinder.
Portrait of a young painter [electronic resource] : Pepe Zúñiga and Mexico City’s rebel generation / Mary Kay Vaughan.
Painter’s practice : how artists lived and worked in traditional China / James Cahill.