LibGuides: African History: Find Primary Sources

Primary Sources: Best Bets

Primary sources from African countries. Coverage dates: 1800 - present

Historical primary sources from around the world about a variety of subjects. Coverage dates: 1400 - present

Primary sources from the Library of Congress and other institutions around the world. Coverage dates: 900 - present

Government information, ebooks, and primary sources from Google, the Internet Archive, and libraries around the world. Coverage dates: 1850 - present

Africa - The British Library
Historical and contemporary material for the study of Africa. Coverage dates: 1800 - present

African Diaspora
International primary, secondary source documents, and video covering the movement of African peoples across the globe. Coverage dates: 1860 - present
African Online Digital Library (AODL) This link opens in a new window
Cultural heritage materials from and about African countries and communities including photographs, videos, archival documents, maps, interviews, and oral histories. Coverage dates: 1800 - present
AM Explorer
Historical primary sources from around the world about a variety of subjects. Coverage dates: 1400 - present
HathiTrust
Government information, ebooks, and primary sources from a variety of places, including Google, the Internet Archive, and libraries around the world. Coverage dates: 1850 - present
Library of Congress: Digital Collections
Primary sources from the Library of Congress and other institutions around the world. Coverage dates: 900 - present
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice
Primary and secondary sources for research and teaching; including an interactive map, scholarly essays, tutorials, a visual sources gallery, chronology, and bibliography. Coverage dates: 1490 - 2007

Access World News
Recent local, state, national, and international newspaper articles. Coverage dates: 1980 - present
Times of London Digital Archive
Prominent British newspaper. Coverage dates: 1785 - 6 years ago

HathiTrust
Government information, ebooks, and primary sources from a variety of places, including Google, the Internet Archive, and libraries around the world. Coverage dates: 1850 - present
House of Commons Parliamentary Papers
Primary sources from the British government. Coverage dates: 1800 - 2020

African Government Publications (from The British Library)
Official African Government documents referenced in a PDF document, mostly from formerly colonized nations. Coverage dates: 1850 - present

Artstor via JSTOR
Images from archives all over the world. Subject areas include art, architecture, music, religion, anthropology, literature, and world history. Coverage dates: 1000 BCE - present
AP Images
Archive of photos, graphics, text, and audio from the Associated Press. Coverage: 1840 - present
Library of Congress: Digital Collections
Primary sources from the Library of Congress and other institutions around the world. Coverage dates: 900 - present
AM Explorer
Historical primary sources from around the world about a variety of subjects. Coverage dates: 1400 - present

Afrobarometer
Pan-African, non-partisan research network that conducts public attitude surveys on democracy, governance, economic conditions, and related issues in more than 35 countries in Africa.

Polling the Nations This link opens in a new window
Questions and responses to public opinion polls on breaking-news events and pressing social issues of the day. Comprehensive international and U.S. coverage.
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
Dataset archive from an international consortium of academic institutions and research organizations. Coverage dates: 1790 - present

Old Maps Online
A search engine for searching old maps. This project is a collaboration between Klokan Technologies GmbH, Switzerland and The Great Britain Historical GIS Project based at the University of Portsmouth, UK.

she / her

Email Me

Contact:

817-257-5337