Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

African History: Intro

Welcome Message

Welcome to this research guide in African History. I am Robyn Reid, the librarian for history topics. In this research guide, you will find recommendations on where to look for resources in African History. 

Social Sciences Librarian

Profile Photo
Robyn Reid
she / her
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Librarian for: Anthropology, Criminal Justice, Communication Studies, Education, Geography, History, Military Science, Political Science
Contact:
817-257-5337

Search Frog Scholar

Database Best Bets

JSTOR

Scholarly journals from first issue to 3-5 years ago, plus recent scholarly ebooks. Multiple subjects, especially strong in arts and sciences. Coverage dates: 1800 - present

JSTOR Logo

Historical Abstracts with Full Text

Scholarly and peer-reviewed articles about the history of the world, excluding the United States and Canada. Coverage dates: 1955 - present

Historical Abstracts Logo

AM Explorer

Historical primary sources from around the world about a variety of subjects. Coverage dates: 1400 - present

Adam Matthew Logo

General Info Databases

Reference Books

Africa: An Introduction to History, Politics, and Society

In-depth overview of African history and politics from the Atlantic slave trade, through the phases of colonialism and decolonization, to the development problems of the present.

The Black Handbook

Spanning three continents, this is a study of the African people, which describes and analyzes the essential events, ideas and personalities of Africa and the African diaspora past and present. Contains data, statistical information and background material on the politics and culture of Africans and people of African descent worldwide.

The Oxford Handbook of Contemporary Middle-Eastern and North African History

Examines the defining processes and structures of historical developments in North Africa and the Middle East over the past two centuries.