Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Young Adult Literature: National Book Award

For anyone looking for excellent Young Adult Literature, especially award winners, available at TCU.

National Book Awards at TCU

TCU does not own all of the National Book Award winners and finalist books. This list only includes the winners and finalists for the Young People's Literature category. View the complete list of National Book Award winners.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Robyn Reid
she / her
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Librarian for: Anthropology, Criminal Justice, Communication Studies, Education, Geography, History, Military Science, Political Science

2019 National Book Awards

1919 the Year That Changed America

National Book Award Winner, 2019


Stonewall Honor Book, 2020
National Book Award Finalist, 2019

Look Both Ways

National Book Award Finalist, 2019

Patron Saints of Nothing

National Book Award Finalist, 2019

Thirteen Doorways, Wolves Behind Them All

National Book Award Finalist, 2019

About the National Book Awards

On March 16, 1950, publishers, editors, writers, and critics gathered at the Waldorf-Astoria Hotel in New York City to celebrate the first annual National Book Awards, an award given to writers by writers.

Between the 1960s and 1980s, the awards were expanded in order to broaden the audience for these award winning books.

But in 1987, the Board reduced the number of categories for the award, and reestablished the National Book Awards with an emphasis that the Awards are given by writers to writers. Since 1996, independent panels of five writers have chosen the National Book Award Winners in four categories: Fiction, Nonfiction, Poetry, and Young People’s Literature. Now, over a half-century since its inception, the National Book Awards continues to recognize the best of American literature, raising the cultural appreciation of great writing in the country while advancing the careers of both established and emerging writers.

The mission of the National Book Foundation and the National Book Awards is to celebrate the best of American literature, to expand its audience, and to enhance the cultural value of good writing in America.