Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Importance of Attribution
Always cite your sources, including visual sources such as films, images, artworks, photographs, data, charts, etc. If you find an image on a website, and there is no attribution, meaning you cannot find a citation, try to find where it originated and who created it. In general, when choosing visual resources:
Look for an attribution or citation.
If possible, find the original creation and creator.
Cite the visual sources you use in your project.
Visual Sources at TCU
When you find a book on your topic, check to see if the book includes illustrations, maps, photographs, or other visuals. These sources are always cited, so you will be able to re-use them for your own projects.
Times of London Digital Archive
Prominent British newspaper. Coverage dates: 1785 - six years ago.
Access World News
Contains more recent local, state, national, and international newspaper articles. Coverage dates: Early 20th century - current.
Over one million images from outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates from all over the world. Subject areas include art, architecture, music, religion, anthropology, literature, world history, American Studies, Asian Studies, Classical Studies, Medieval Studies, Renaissance Studies, and more.
Smithsonian Institution Digital Collections
Search more than 536,000 images, video and sound files, electronic journals and other resources from all of the Smithsonian's museums, archives & libraries. Included are more than 10,000 photographs, letters, sketches and sketchbooks, diaries, printed materials, ephemera, and other documents representing Archives of American Art collections.
Biography in Context
Includes biographical material from authoritative reference works, full-text newspapers, journals, and video and audio clips from NBC and NPR
Films On Demand
Streaming video for multiple subject disciplines. Content is from sources such as Films for the Humanities and Sciences, PBS, History Channel, National Geographic, TED and television networks such as BBC and CBC. Embedding or linking to videos is possible and transcripts are available.
Filmakers Library Online
Provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum--race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more.
Polling the Nations
Full text of 700K questions and responses from 18k+ public opinion surveys and 1700+ polling organizations. Polls for the U.S and more than 100 other countries. Data on all the pressing social issues of the day.
World Development Indicators
Provides current and historical Economic data from the World Bank for over 207 Countries. Topics include: Economics, Environment, Finance, Social Indicators, and Trade. Coverage dates: 1960 - 2000.
Find Visual Sources on the Open Web
Use advanced search options in Google to look for digital archives for your topic on the open web. For example:
- [name of nation] colonialism digital archives site:.edu
- [name of nation] independence digital archives site:.uk
Chicago 17 Image Citation Style - Bibliography Page
Last name, First name. Title of Work. Date of creation or completion. Medium. Name of Institution. Location (if applicable). URL.
Ferrara, Daniel. The Flock. 1970. Painting, 25.5x32in. https://library.artstor.org/asset/ARTSTOR_103_41822000454452.
Please see the Chicago Manual of Style, 17th edition for further guidance.
Chicago Manual of Style
Search or browse the full text of the latest edition of this important style manual. Tools, such as sample forms, proofreader's marks, letters, and style sheets are also provided. Coverage dates: Current.