Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

World History 1500 to Present: Home

For students taking World History 1500 to present

Social Sciences Librarian

Profile Photo
Robyn Reid
she / her
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Librarian for: Anthropology, Criminal Justice, Communication Studies, Education, Geography, History, Military Science, Political Science
Contact:
817-257-5337

Search Frog Scholar

Identifying Keywords

For this course, think about the information you need. Look at the questions from the assignment and identify the main ideas, and combine them with the name of the nation you are studying. For example:

  • [Name of nation] AND Colonialism 
  • Colonial [Name of nation]
  • [Name of nation] AND independence

Also think of synonyms. For example, synonyms for colonialism could be:

  • imperialism
  • colonization

Use these combinations of words when searching in library databases.

Recommended Databases

Salem Press Online

Contains encyclopedias, reference works, primary source documents, and books. Coverage dates: Prehistory - Current

Salem Press Logo

JSTOR

An electronic journal collection consisting of the full-text of back issues of journals in many different subject areas. Coverage dates: Varies.

JSTOR Logo

Historical Abstracts with Full Text

History articles covering the history of the world from 1450 to the present. Coverage dates: 1955-Current

Historical Abstracts Logo

Academic Search Ultimate

A large, multidisciplinary database. Coverage dates: Varies.

Academic Search Ultimate Logo

Project Muse

Peer-reviewed journal articles for a variety of topics.

Project Muse Logo