Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Social Problems: Home

Research Guide for students taking Social Problems with Dr. Krisler Bailey.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Robyn Reid
she / her
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Librarian for: Anthropology, Criminal Justice, Communication Studies, Education, Geography, History, Military Science, Political Science
Contact:
817-257-5337

Search Frog Scholar

Where to Start

Frog Scholar

Start your search in Frog Scholar.

  1. Do a search for the name of your county and one additional keyword. For example: "Tarrant County" AND poverty
  2. If you do not find any results, use the name of the closest "big" city. For example: "Fort Worth" AND poverty

Social Explorer

Use Social Explorer to get basic demographic information. NOTE: You will need to create an account to save the information you find and/or create in Social Explorer, and login each time you use the database.

  1. Choose "Demographic Profiles" from the options on the left.
  2. Do a search for the name of your county. For example: "Tarrant County"

Recommended Databases

Sociological Abstracts

Indexes international scholarly literature in sociology and includes companion file Social Services Abstracts. Coverage dates: 1952 - Current.

Sociological Abstracts

SocINDEX with Full Text

Contains full text for journals, books, monographs, and conference papers for topics in sociology.Coverage dates: 1895 - Current.

SocIndex Logo

JSTOR

An electronic journal collection consisting of the full text of back issues of journals in many different subject areas. It is especially strong in Arts and Sciences.Coverage dates: Varies.

JSTOR Logo