Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Best Multi-Discipline Databases and E-Journals
Multi-discipline or interdisciplinary databases simply means that each databases carries articles from a variety of subjects. The list below are some of the best database for searching women's studies topics that cross different fields.
Full-text database in many different subject areas. It is especially strong in Arts and Sciences. Links to ARTstor!
Contemporary Women's Issues
This multidisciplinary, full-text database focuses on the critical issues and events that influence women's lives in more than 190 countries.
4 concurrent users maximum
Full text database of publications that focus on the historical and current perspectives of evolving gender roles. The database contains more than 200 academic, gray, and popular titles.
1 concurrent user maximum
Defining Gender is a collection of primary source documents that cover topics such as the family, education, and consumer culture. Coverage 1450-1910.
Databases on Social Sciences
The databases below are great for scholarly research concern particular historical periods or social movments.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
An index of historical journals, books, and dissertations covering all aspects of world history. 6 concurrent users maximum
Searchable full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.
America: History and Life with Full Text
Covers the history of the United States and Canada from prehistoric times to the present.
6 concurrent users maximum
A sociology index which indexes journals, books, and conference papers.Some full text articles are available.
Humanities & Theatre
Subjects: Citation Tools
, English Literature and Composition
, Film, TV & Digital Media
, Library Basics
, Modern Language Studies
, Spanish & Hispanic Studies
, Women and Gender Studies