Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Environmental Science Databases
Use these databases to search for journal articles about environmental science topics.
Full-text database focusing on agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy and related fields. More than 1,200 full-text journals, with indexing for an addition 800+ journals. Includes author profiles. Coverage dates: Varies.
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment.
The number one place to start when searching for geology articles. GeoRef Indexes the geoscience literature of the world including over 3500 journals, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses.
Web of Science
A citation database that allows you to search the online versions of Science Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index. The analyze tool can be used to filter results by author, publication year, journal subject category, institution, language or source title.
BIOSIS Citation Index
BIOSIS Citation Index searches thousands of journal titles in biology and the life sciences, and contains citation data for each item. It also searches conference proceedings, books, and book chapters. Coverage dates: 1926 - current.
Provides citations and indexes to agricultural information, including animal sciences, plant sciences, aquaculture, forestry, and more.
Searches over 150 bioscience publications from independent publishers and contains the full text of over 80 journal titles.
Provides access to hundreds of full-text journals published by Elsevier in subjects including science, engineering, technology, medicine and business.
Birds of the World
Provides comprehensive life histories of thousands of the worldâ€™s bird species. Includes audio and video.
Science & Technology Collection
Science & Technology Collection searches hundreds of journals in the science and technology fields, and includes full text for many journals. Subjects include astrophysics, biology, chemistry, computer technology, geology, physics, archaeology and materials science. Coverage dates: 1900 - current.
Zoological Record is the world's oldest continuing database of animal biology. It is considered the world's leading taxonomic reference, with coverage back to 1864, it has acted as the world's unofficial register of animal names.
Good general databases
These databases are very general in nature.
Academic Search Ultimate
Cross-disciplinary with full text of 6,500+ scholarly journals. Thousands of additional publications with good links to full-text. Coverage dates: Varies.
Gale Science in Context
Contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. By integrating authoritative, curriculum-aligned reference content with headlines and videos, it draws students into the subject matter, showing how scientific disciplines relate to real-world issues, from weather patterns to obesity. Coverage dates: current.
Dissertations and Theses at TCU
Contains full text of dissertations and theses produced by TCU students. The Current Research@ Gateway link on the main page will also let you view 24 page previews of dissertations and theses submitted at other participating institutions from 1999-present.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Contains online encyclopedias and other other reference sources on a wide variety of topics.