LibGuides: TCU Race & Reconciliation Initiative: Emmett Till: Educator Resources

Young Adult Books @ A Library Near You

A Wreath for Emmett Till

Printz Honor Book, 2006
Corretta Scott King Honor Book, 2006

Explores the life, death, and legacy of Emmett Till through poetry.

Getting Away with Murder: The True Story of the Emmett Till Case

Presents a true account of the murder of fourteen-year-old Emmett Till in Mississippi in 1955 and the lasting impact of his death.

Mississippi Trial 1955

In Mississippi in 1955, a sixteen-year-old finds himself at odds with his grandfather over issues surrounding the kidnapping and murder of a fourteen-year-old African American from Chicago. (Fiction)

A Dream of Freedom

Non-Fiction account of events in the Civil Rights movement between 1954 and 1968.

Murder of Emmett Till | PBS Learning Media
Grades 9-12; Includes a short video clip, teacher tips, discussion questions, and supporting materials for students.
Encountering Injustice: Analyzing Words and Images in the Civil Rights Movement | Yale-New Haven Teachers Institute
Grades 9-12; Three lesson plans using the murder of Emmett Till as an example:
1. Image Analysis
2. Text Analysis
3. Write a Poem based on Historical People or Events
Lynching of Emmett Till: The Response | Teaching With Primary Sources Mississippi
Grades 8-9; Students analyze primary sources and create protest posters highlighting what they learned about injustices in this case.
Emmett Till Primary Sources | DocsTeach
Collection of primary source documents from the National Archives to use in teaching.
Emmett Till Lesson Plans | Facing History & Ourselves
Grades 9-12; Several lesson plans regarding Emmett Till's murder and the civil rights movement.

Lesson Plan: The Black Press | PBS Newshour
Grades 8-12; Students will be able to identify major historical figures and publications of the black press and relate them to national civic issues and broader historical themes in a paper or discussion.
Teaching About Race and the Media | Civil Rights Teaching
Grades 9-12; The objective of this lesson is to introduce students to the fight for fair media representation during the Civil Rights Movement.

Texshare Databases

Most educators and students in Texas have access to the suite of Texshare databases through their school or public libraries. Texshare is administered by the Texas State Library and Archives Commission (TSLAC).

Academic Search Complete (Texshare)
Find full-text sources on a variety of topics.
Credo Reference (Texshare)
Great place to start learning more about a variety of topics, including Emmett Till and the Civil Rights Movement.
Middle Search Plus (Texshare)
Articles for middle schoolers on a variety of topics.
Race Relations Abstracts (Texshare)
Find scholarly articles about racial and ethnic studies.