LibGuides: TCU Race & Reconciliation Initiative: Emmett Till: Learn More @ TCU Library

Additional Sources

Only members of the TCU community can access the full-text articles provided in the links below. Check your local library for access to these publications.

Primary Sources

Barrow, John. "Here's A Picture of Emmett Till Painted by those Who Knew Him." The Chicago Defender (National Edition) (1921-1967), Oct 01, 1955.

Hughes, Langston. "Langston Hughes Wonders Why no Lynching Probes." The Chicago Defender (National Edition) (1921-1967), Oct 01, 1955.

Lewis, John. "John Lewis: Together, You Can Redeem the Soul of Our Nation." New York Times. Jul 30, 2020.

Secondary Sources

Eyes on the Prize: America's Civil Rights Movement | PBS
Produced by Blackside, this video series tells the definitive story of the civil rights era from the point of view of the ordinary men and women whose extraordinary actions launched a movement that changed the fabric of American life, and embodied a struggle whose reverberations continue to be felt today.

Read

Emmett Till: The Murder that Shocked the World and Propelled the Civil Rights Movement

Death of Innocence: The Story of the Hate Crime That Changed America

In Remembrance of Emmett Till

Emmett Till and the Mississippi Press

Databases

Black Studies Center
Primary and secondary sources about the Black experience, from Africa until modern times. dissertations and some video. Coverage dates: 1600 - present
NAACP Papers
Primary source showing the NAACP's history and achievements. Includes board minutes, speeches at annual conference, legal files, and campaigns for equality in education, housing, voting rights and much more. Coverage dates: 1909-1970
Chicago Defender
Prominent black newspaper. Coverage dates: 1910 - 1975
Race Relations Abstracts
Index of books and articles about race relations including ethnic studies, discrimination, and immigration. Some full-text. Coverage dates: 1975 - present
Proquest Databases
Search all Proquest databases: historical newspapers, other primary sources, dissertations, current periodicals, etc. from a single page. Documents can be limited to desired source(s) from the results list. Coverage dates: 1400 - present.