LibGuides: Educational Counseling Research Guide: Find Sources

Subject Guide

Robyn Reid

she / her

Email Me

Contact:

817-257-5337

Search Frog Scholar

Search Frog Scholar:

Recommended Databases

PsycINFO

Contains citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, technical reports and dissertations, from more than 2,100 international sources in psychology and related disciplines.

PsycTESTS

This database is a full-text repository of psychological tests and measures, as well as a source of structured information about tests of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields.

Education Source

Peer-reviewed journal articles for topics in Education. Coverage dates: 1929-Current.

ERIC

A database provided by the U.S. Department of Education and contains citations and abstracts from over 1000 education journals.

JSTOR

An electronic journal collection consisting of the full text of back issues of journals in many different subject areas. It is especially strong in Arts and Sciences.Coverage dates: Varies.

Databases

PsycInfo (APA PsycInfo) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, ebooks, videos, technical reports, and dissertations covering all aspects of global behavioural and social sciences research. Coverage dates: 1887 – present
PsycTests (APA PsycTESTS) This link opens in a new window
Ready-to-use research instruments; wide variety of tests and measures including aptitude tests, personality scales, and cognitive functioning measures. Structured information on scope, test implementation, test development, and reliability and validity data. Coverage dates: 1910 - present
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
Mental Measurements Yearbook contains full-text reviews of testing instruments in psychology, education, business and leadership. Coverage dates: 1938 - present.
Tests in Print is a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals covering topics in emotional and behavioural characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, and observational and experimental methods. Coverage dates: 1965 - present
Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, and Reference Works
Transcripts of counseling and therapy sessions, and first-person narratives about the experience of mental illness and treatment. Coverage dates: 1739 - present

PsycTests (APA PsycTESTS) This link opens in a new window
Ready-to-use research instruments; wide variety of tests and measures including aptitude tests, personality scales, and cognitive functioning measures. Structured information on scope, test implementation, test development, and reliability and validity data. Coverage dates: 1910 - present
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
Mental Measurements Yearbook contains full-text reviews of testing instruments in psychology, education, business and leadership. Coverage dates: 1938 - present.
Tests in Print is a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language.

Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences
Index to tests and measurement tools used in psychology, sociology, health, marketing, management, and so on, that may be found in one or more reference resources.Copyright permission is NOT provided for use or reproduction of the instruments, neither here nor usually in the print resource. Contact the copyright holder of the measure for these permissions.

Education Source
Scholarly and peer-reviewed articles in education. Coverage dates: 1929 - present
ERIC - EBSCO
Articles and reports about education from the U.S. Department of Education. Coverage dates: 1966 - present
Sage Premier
Scholarly journals in a wide range of subject areas including business, humanities, social sciences, physical sciences, technology, and medicine. Coverage dates: 1999 - present
ScienceDirect
Journal articles and ebooks published by Elsevier. Includes science, engineering, technology, medicine, and business. Coverage dates: 1823 - present.
Wiley Online Library
Scholarly journals, ebooks, and reference works that cover a variety of topics including science, communication, business, medicine, and more. Coverage dates: 1834 - present
OmniFile Full Text Select
Scholarly journals and magazines. Core subjects include art, education, humanities, law, social sciences and technology. Coverage dates: 1994 - Current

Sage Research Methods (SRM)
Definitions and sample use cases for qualitative and quantitative research. Sample datasets. Use tools like a methods map, project planner, and statistical methods recommender. Coverage dates: 1970 - present
Dissertations and Theses (ProQuest)
Dissertations available from around the world, many of which are full-text. Coverage dates: 1743 - current.

Counseling and Therapy in Video
Watch a variety of therapy and counseling methods and approaches as practiced by experts in their fields. Coverage dates: 1980 - 2013
Films On Demand
Videos on multiple subjects from Films for the Humanities and Sciences, PBS, History Channel, National Geographic, TED, global television networks, and more. Embedding, linking, and interactive transcripts are available. Coverage dates: 1903 - present

Social Sciences Citation Index
A multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of social sciences; full bibliographic and cited reference data. Disciplines include: communication, education, geography, history of social sciences, law, political science, public health, social issues, sociology. Coverage dates: 1956 - Current.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed journal articles for topics in anthropology, criminal justice, social work, and sociology. Coverage dates: 1895 - present