LibGuides: Medical Grants: Community Health Grants

Public Health Grant Tips

EPA - Understanding, Managing, and Applying for EPA Grants
Information on the Environmental Protection Agency's funding opportunities and grant application procedures.
Foundation Center - Proposal Writing
Training courses, both online and in the classroom at various levels, to learn how to write grant proposals.
NN/LM - Proposal Writing Support
Grant proposal writing tips, tutorials, resources, and classes.
OER: Office of Extramural Research, NIH Regional Seminars on Program Funding and Grants Administration
Semiannual NIH Regional Seminars on Program Funding and Grants. These seminars are intended to help demystify the application and review process, clarify Federal regulations and policies, and highlight current areas of special interest or concern.
Tips on Writing a Competitive Grant Proposal & Preparing a Budget
Instructional material from the Environmental Protection Agency to help communities and non-profit organizations identify financial assistance opportunities for their environmentally oriented programs.

PHPartners - Funding & Grants

Grants and funding opportunities for fellowships, grants and other awards, including awards from members of the Partners project.

Grants/Funding Opportunities listed individually in box below

Grant/Funding Opportunities

AAMC: Association of American Medical Colleges - Grants and Awards
Each year at our annual meeting, the AAMC presents its major awards honoring individuals and programs making significant contributions to our community in the fields of medical education, research, and community service.
Administration for Children and Families, HHS (ACF)
ACF offer's funding for a variety of competitive and mandatory grant programs serving families, children, individuals and communities.
ASTMH: American Society of Tropical Medicine & Hygiene
Funding and Fellowships Sponsored by ASTMH
Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation
The Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation works to reduce inequities and improve lives around the world. Grant programs include the Global Development Program to reduce hunger and poverty in the developing world, the Global Health Program to encourage the development of lifesaving medical advances, and the United States Program to reduce inequities by improving access to educational and other opportunities.
CDC Chronic Disease Prevention & Health Promotion
Funding opportunities to prevent and control chronic diseases.
CDC Cooperative Agreement Funding Opportunities
The following pages describe funding opportunities from CDC that are available to members of the sponsoring associations.
CDC Grant Funding by State
CDC's Grant Funding Profiles tool provides access to information about CDC funding to address issues of public health importance in states, territories, and the District of Columbia.
CDC Injury Center Funding Opportunity Announcements
Funding opportunities to work with the CDC Injury Center to develop, implement, and promote effective injury and violence prevention and control practices.
CDC Office on Smoking and Health (OSH) Funding Opportunity Announcements
Funding opportunities related to tobacco prevention and control.
CFDA: Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance
Government-wide compendium of all federal programs, projects, services, and activities that provide assistance or benefits to the American public. Users can contact the office that administers a program for application instructions.
CHHCS: Center for Health and Health Care in Schools
Health and Health Care in Schools Grant Alerts
Funding opportunities to assist in promoting the health of children through school-connected programs
COS Funding Information Portal
Database of research funding opportunities.
EPA Healthy Places for Healthy People
Provides expert planning assistance for communities to create walk-able, healthy, economically vibrant places.
EPA Local Foods, Local Places
Provides planning assistance to communities to create an implementable action plan promoting local food and neighborhood revitalization.
FedBizOpps.gov
Database of active federal opportunities. Users can search by location, agency, and type of opportunity.
FNS: Food and Nutrition Service, USDA - Grants
FNS discretionary grant opportunities.
Fogarty: Advancing Science for Global Health - Funding Opportunities
The Fogarty International Center at NIH offers a variety of funding opportunities to support the field of global health research.
more...less...
Fogarty also offers a variety of resources for those seeking global health research funding across NIH, and from other organizations.
Foundation Center
The Center provides information for grantseekers, grantmakers, researchers, policymakers, the media, and the general public.
Grace and Harold Sewell Memorial Fund
Funding for medical and health care librarians and information specialists. The fund focuses in two major areas, learning partnerships with health science organizations and stipends to attend national professional meetings.
HEI: Health Effects Institute - Funding Opportunities
Requests for Applications (RFAs) from the Health Effects Institute, an independent organization that conducts research on the health effects of air pollution.
HRSA: Health Resources & Services Administration
Scholarship, Loan and Loan Repayment Programs for Health Professionals
HRSA: Open Opportunities
HRSA makes grants to organizations to improve and expand health care services for underserved people
NACCHO's Medical Reserve Corps Awards
Funding opportunities to address a community's local needs and interests in public health activities and/or emergency response.
NACCHO: National Association of County and City Health Officials - Funding
Funding opportunities for local public health.
NCI: Cancer Control & Population Sciences Funding Opportunities
Cancer control funding opportunities including research involving surveillance, epidemiology, health services, behavioral science and cancer survivorship.
NLM - AIDS Community Information Outreach Projects
Funding opportunities for outreach efforts to community-based AIDS organizations and patient advocacy groups. The primary purpose of these outreach projects is to design local programs for improving information access for AIDS patients and the affected community as well as their caregivers.
NN/LM - Public Health Funded Projects
A list of public health projects funded through the National Network of Libraries of Medicine.
NNPHI: National Network of Public Health Institutes - Public Health Services and Systems Research Funding Opportunities
Funding to support public health services and systems research (PHSSR).
PHHS Block Grant : Preventive Health and Health Services
The Preventive Health and Health Services Block Grant gives grantees the flexibility to prioritize the use of funds to fill funding gaps in programs that deal with leading causes of death and disability and the ability to respond rapidly to emerging health issues, including outbreaks of food-borne infections and waterborne diseases.
PHSSR/PBRN: Public Health Services and Systems Research and the Practice-Based Research Networks - Funding Opportunities
Public Health Services and Systems Research (PHSSR) is a multidisciplinary field of study that examines the organization, financing, delivery and quality of public health services within communities and the resulting impact on population health. Significant changes are occurring in the delivery of public health services as a result of external forces and public health policies, creating opportunities to study the impact of these changes on population health. Funding is available from a variety of sources to support timely investigations in these areas.
Prevention & Public Health Fund
This database includes funding opportunity announcements, requests for proposals, and other funding solicitations for activities funded from the Prevention and Public Health Fund.
Public Health Genomics
The following are links to select funded sites and projects for genomics
RIC: Rural Information Center, National Agricultural Library
Links to funding opportunities compiled by the National Agricultural Library.
Roadmaps to Health Community Grants
The Roadmaps to Health Community Grants, which supported two-year state and local efforts among policymakers, business, education, health care, public health and community organizations, were managed by Community Catalyst, a national consumer health advocacy organization.
Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Grants Database
The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation provides grants for projects that advance their mission to improve the health and health care of all Americans. The database lists currently awarded grants, and links to a database of past grants.
Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Local Funding Partnerships
Formerly Local Initiative Funding Partners (LIFP), this is a partnership program between the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and local grantmakers that supports creative, collaborative, community-based projects to improve health and health care for vulnerable populations.
Rural Health Information Hub - Funding Opportunities
Summaries of funding programs provided by RAC.
RWJF: Public Health Topic Pages Bioterrorism Dental Public Health Environmental Health HIV/AIDS How to Access Journal Articles Nutrition Obesity Public Health Genomics Veterinary Public Health Workforce Development Main Topic Pages Health Promotion and
Evidence for Action: Investigator-Initiated Research to Build a Culture of Health
The program will fund innovative studies to address the gaps in knowledge on health and well-being, with a particular focus health equity.
SAMHSA: Substance Abuse & Mental Health Services Administration
Grants that focus on building resilience and facilitating recovery for people with or at risk for mental or substance use disorders.
Wellcome Trust
Global charitable foundation dedicated to improving health by supporting bright minds in science, the humanities and social sciences, and public engagement. Funding is focused on addressing some of the most pressing and fundamental problems that confront human and animal health.
WKKF: W.K. Kellogg Foundation Healthy Kids
The Foundation supports efforts to improve the health of mothers and families; to increase breastfeeding rates; to provide innovative, community-based oral health care and to transform food systems so children and families have healthier foods in child care settings, in schools and in their communities.

The Commonwealth Fund

The Fund supports independent research on health and social issues and makes grants to improve health care practice and policy. We are dedicated to helping people become more informed about their health care and improving care for vulnerable populations such as children, the elderly, low-income families, minorities, and the uninsured.

DSHS Funding Alert

Funding Alert

The Funding Alert (Publication #E32-10915) weekly current awareness service lists funding opportunities, grantsmanship training and other items of interest to grant seekers. The alerts are sent through e-mail to subscribers. The alerts replace the Funding Watch newsletter which was discontinued in December 2002. You can subscribe to the Funding Alert by filling out our online subscription form.

Medical Grants: Community Health Grants

Community Health/Public Health Grants

Public Health Grant Tips

PHPartners - Funding & Grants

Grant/Funding Opportunities

The Commonwealth Fund

DSHS Funding Alert