LibGuides: Psychology: Data, Stats & Tests

Psychology Datasets

Working with datasets:

UNDERSTAND how and why the data was collected
- Correlation vs. causation
REVIEW Terms of Use to ensure that you are using the data within sharing/reformatting/changing guidelines
CREATE citation information - data sets must be cited. Repositories will often have citation guidelines/help using different styles (APA)

APA Datasets & Repositories
Wealth of shared data for use in psychological science research; spans a wide variety of topics.
Data.world - Psychology
Open data about psychology contributed by thousands of users and organizations across the world.
SAMHSA Data Archive
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration collects data through multiple sources and surveys to support a better understanding of mental illness and substance use disorders in America.
CDC - Data & Statistics
Open access data from the nation’s leading science-based, data-driven, service organization that protects the public’s health.
ICPSR
International consortium of 750+ academic and research organizations, Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) provides data access, curation, and methods of analysis for social sciences research.

Bureau of Justice Statistics
BJS publications, data tables, and press releases organized by topics: corrections, courts, crime, federal justice system, forensics, law enforcement, etc,
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
Latest statistical portraits of how health care is delivered in the US.
National Center for Health Statistics
Biomedical and health services research; access to important health statistics information and data from surveys, indexes, and record linkage program.
Google Dataset Search
A search engine for datasets; using simple keyword search, users can discover datasets hosted in thousands of repositories across the web.

SAGE Research Methods Datasets
Datasets with instructional guides that give students a chance to learn data analysis by practicing themselves. Indexed by method and data type. Coverage dates: Current
DataPlanet
International statistics and datasets; topics include criminal justice, politics, education, sociology, census, transportation, consumer behavior, and more. Coverage dates: 1970 - present
Statista Pro
International and domestic statistics, infographics, and market data for a wide variety of topics including health and social sciences. Coverage dates: 2008 - present

DATABASES

PsycTests (APA PsycTESTS) This link opens in a new window
Ready-to-use research instruments; wide variety of tests and measures including aptitude tests, personality scales, and cognitive functioning measures. Structured information on scope, test implementation, test development, and reliability and validity data. Coverage dates: 1910 - present
HaPI - Health and Psychosocial Instruments
HaPI - User Guide (PDF)
Measurement instruments (i.e. questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, coding schemes, rating scales, etc.) in the fields of medicine, nursing, public health, psychology, social work, communication, sociology, and organizational behavior/ human resources. Uses published peer-reviewed content.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
Mental Measurements Yearbook contains full-text reviews of testing instruments in psychology, education, business and leadership. Coverage dates: 1938 - present.
Tests in Print is a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language.