Skip to main content
Ask a Librarian
Search this Guide
Biology: Biology Websites
This guide shows online and print resources related to biology.
Primary and Secondary Sources
A repository for biology reprints, run by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory.
Created by the American Association for the Advancement of Science, BioSciEdNet is a gateway to online biological educational resources.
Catalogue of Life
A database of Linnean nomenclature for over 1 million species.
Center for Invasive Species and Ecosystem Health
A portal to a variety of websites on invasive species and natural resources management
Charles Darwin's Beagle Library
Attempts to reconstruct the library on board the HMS Beagle in the 1830's, while Charles Darwin was aboard.
Convention on Biological Diversity
The CBD website has information on the Convention and related protocols and about biological diversity in general.
DARBASE: Charles Darwin's Scientific Manuscripts
Contains thousands of Darwin manuscripts on a wide variety of topics.
Aims to proved access to over 30,000 manuscript pages written by Charles Darwin.
DNA Learning Center
Up-to-date information on DNA and genetics.
Everglades Digital Library
An excellent information source on the Florida Everglades.
Freshwater and Marine Image Bank
Over 21,000 photos related to ocean and inland water environments. Topics include fish, water birds, shellfish, dams, and much more.
Global Freshwater Biodiversity Atlas
Highly interactive freshwater biodiversity maps of the world
Grasshoppers: Their Biology, Identification, and Management
Everything you ever wanted to know about grasshoppers.
Images from NCBI
A database of 3,000,000 images and figures from the National Center for Biotechnology Information. These images relate to the life sciences and medicine.
Integrated Taxonomic Information System
Taxonomic information about all kinds of living things.
International Plant Names Index
An index of the primary citations for names of seed plants, ferns, and lycophytes.
IUCN Red List of Threatened Species
A resources on the conservation status of a wide variety of plants and animals, worldwide.
Linus Pauling Online
A treasure trove of Linus Pauling's work on proteins and nucleic acids.
The American Society of Microbiology created this site to imporove awareness and understanding of microbiological issues.
National Wetlands Inventory
An inventory of wetlands, including river and shore areas across the United States.
Natural Resources Conservation Service
The NRCS (formerly the Soil Conservation Service) is a conservation leader for all natural resources, ensuring private lands are conserved.
New York Botanical Garden's CV Starr Virtual Herbarium
Provides access to records for 1.3 million plant and fungi specimens, of which 100,000 have accompanying images.
The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.
Profiles in Science
Contains information about many prominent 20th century biomedical scientists. Created by the National Library of Medicine.
Singing Insects of North America
An online resource of insects that sing, such as crickets, katydids, and cicadas.
Society of Toxicology
Accurate, recent information about toxicology.
Swingle Plant Digital Archive and Reference Collection
An online database of micro-photographs of over 300 specimens of flower buds, fruit, seeds, leaves, shoots, and roots.
US Fish and Wildlife Service National Digital Library
This website contains many images and videos relating to ths US Fish and Wildlife Service. Also contains some documents and maps.
USGS Nonindigenous Aquatic Species
A database of information on the occurrence and distribution of introduced aquatic species, focusing on freshwater organisms and fishes.
Library 2015, right next to Research Support Desk
Chemistry & Biochemistry
Physics & Astronomy
Evaluating Sources >>
Jun 23, 2020 1:46 PM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.