Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use these databases to find articles about biology topics.
Web of Science
A citation database that allows you to search the online versions of Science Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index. The analyze tool can be used to filter results by author, publication year, journal subject category, institution, language or source title.
Provides the most comprehensive coverage on medical research, clinical practice, administration and policy issues from thousands of journals.
Birds of the World
Comprehensive life histories and statistical data about of thousands of the world's bird species. Includes audio and video. Coverage dates: Current
Provides citations and indexes to agricultural information, including animal sciences, plant sciences, aquaculture, forestry, and more.
Searches over 150 bioscience publications from independent publishers and contains the full text of over 80 journal titles.
Provides access to hundreds of full-text journals published by Elsevier in subjects including science, engineering, technology, medicine and business.
Wiley Online Library
Provides access to articles published by Wiley in a variety of science topics.
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment.
BIOSIS Citation Index
A database to find journal articles in biology and the life sciences. It also finds conference proceedings, books, and book chapters. Coverage dates: 1926 - present.
Zoological Record is the world's oldest continuing database of animal biology. It is considered the world's leading taxonomic reference, with coverage back to 1864, it has acted as the world's unofficial register of animal names.
Anatomy.TV This link opens in a new window
Medically accurate and detailed 3D graphic rendering of human anatomy, including 3D models, dissections, imaging, clinical, physiology, and muscle function. Coverage dates: Current
A database finding journal articles in environmental science, agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy. and related fields. Coverage dates: 1888 - present
Good general databases
These databases are very general in nature.
Academic Search Ultimate
Scholarly journals, newspapers, magazines, videos, and trade publications covering multiple subjects. Coverage dates: 1887 – present
Gale Science in Context
Encyclopedia-like database that covers a wide variety of science topics. Includes journal articles, images, video, reference works, and other materials. Coverage dates: Current.
Dissertations and Theses at TCU
Contains full text of dissertations and theses produced by TCU students. The Current Research@ Gateway link on the main page will also let you view 24 page previews of dissertations and theses submitted at other participating institutions from 1999-present.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Contains online encyclopedias and other other reference sources on a wide variety of topics.
, Chemistry & Biochemistry
, Computer Science
, Environmental and Sustainability Sciences
, Health Sciences
, Physics & Astronomy
, Scholarly Communication