LibGuides: ENGL Literature Research Guide: ENGL 10803 Intro to Comp: Frankenstein

Tips For Searching

On this page is information that will help you find information for your class:

1. Documents on searching the FrogScholar, databases, and the catalog

2. General ways to search.

Tips:

For the most general literary criticism on Frankenstein and Mary Shelley, the following search in the catalog helps:
- Frankenstein AND (History OR symbolism OR criticism OR interpretation)
- Shelley AND (criticism OR interpretation)
- Search Frankenstein or Shelley with a term: Frankenstein AND medicine, Shelley AND "science fiction", Frankenstein and ethics

Here are general call number ranges that will be helpful.
Mary Shelly Criticism and Interpretation

PS5397

Frankenstein

PS5397.F73

Frankenstein Film

PN1995.9.F8

MLA International Bibliography
Journal articles, books, and dissertations produced by the Modern Language Association. Coverage dates: 1926 - present
Humanities International Index
Indexed and abstracted humanities articles, essays, reviews, and creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations. Coverage dates: 1925 - present
JSTOR
Scholarly journals from first issue to 3-5 years ago, plus scholarly ebooks. Multiple subjects, especially strong in arts and sciences. Coverage dates: 1800 - present
Gale Artemis Literary Sources
All Gale literary resources, including Contemporary Authors, Literature Criticism Online, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, and Dictionary of Literary Biography. Database has critical essays and articles, biographical information, and critical sources for further research. You can also search a particular publication or electronic resource. Coverage dates: varies
Project MUSE
Scholarly and peer-reviewed articles in humanities, arts, and social sciences. Coverage dates: 1995 - present

Screen Studies Collection
A comprehensive survey of current publications related to film scholarship and detailed and expansive filmographies. This collection includes the specialist index FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database and the detailed and complementary filmographies created by the American Film Institute, the British Film Institute, AFI Catalog, and Film Index International Coverage Dates: 1893 - present
Performing Arts Periodicals Database
Current content from more than 300 scholarly and popular performing arts periodicals, and indexes documents such as biographical profiles, conference papers, obituaries, interviews, reviews and events. Coverage dates: 1864 - current.
Communication Source This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed journal articles for communication studies in the fields of language acquisition, linguistics, telecommunications, speech-language pathology, and more. Coverage dates: 1920 - present

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Mary Couts Burnett Library
TCU Box 298400
Fort Worth, TX 76129

(817) 257-5338

Subjects: Citation Tools, English Literature and Composition, Film, TV & Digital Media, Library Basics, Modern Language Studies, Reference, Spanish & Hispanic Studies, Theatre, Women and Gender Studies, Writing