This is the "Home" page of the "Music Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Renew items

Music Research Guide  

LINKS ARE UPDATED!!! There are thousands of books, articles, scores and various formats available for music research. How do you know which ones to use? This guide will help you navigate the myriad of information in the music world.
Last Updated: Dec 2, 2014 URL: http://libguides.tcu.edu/music Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What Do You Need?

If your assignment is writing, you need reference databases and print books. If your assignment is listening/viewing, you need streaming databases or A/V items like CDs or DVDs.

Use databases anywhere with internet! Print books are in the library to check out or use here. Some major reference books are now also databases.

Look for the additional info button (blue "i") beside a title to learn more!

 

M/M Library Hours

Our hours are shorter than the rest of the building!  Fall hours:

Sunday: 2:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Monday:  8:00 am - 12:00 am

Tuesday:  8:00 am - 10:00 pm

Wednesday: 8:00 am - 10:00 pm

Thursday:  8:00 am - 12:00 am

Friday:  8:00 am - 6:00 pm

Saturday:  10:00 am - 6:00 pm

Citation Help

Chicago, Turabian, APA... sounds more like travel than bibliography. Helpful links to get the perfect bib!

WHAT'S NEW?!?!?!

New databases, database changes, cool new resources... what has happened in the last month in YOUR Music/Media Library???

We finished construction and now have our study spaces open again.  The scores are back where they belong and you should be able to find things easier.

We have a new Audio/Visual Center specialist!  Her name is also Carrie... which is confusing but we'll figure it out. Come meet her!  She's going to have many fun projects to work on.

 

  • Met Opera on Demand
    You can view Met Opera performances thanks to our new database. We have waited and hoped for YEARS for this!

It's Movie Night!

We have a collection of popular movies for checkout!! It's not exactly NetFlix, but you will be surprised by our collection! Click below for "how-to" for different types of searches you can do to find the perfect movie for you!

  • Searching for Movies
    Whether you know exactly what you want or need a little inspiration, this is our video "how-to" page! You can category search like "horror" or "adventure" or direct search if you have a title in mind. Be sure you look at the availability, especially on newer titles and write down the entire call number! We will retrieve the video for you.

The Best Music Research Databases!

These are the top 5 most often used music databases.

  • Oxford Music Online/Grove Music Online
    The "Encyclopedia Britannica" of music. This is the starting point for almost any music research topic. It is NOT journal articles, but a multi-volume database of topics about music like an encyclopedia. Use the bibliographies at the end of the articles to further your research! This is an example of a resource that has been remade into a website.
  • JSTOR
    A great multi-discipline database containing back issues of many journals. It has full-text and especially strong in arts and sciences.
  • Music Online  
      
    The portal to the Alexander Street Press reference and streaming databases.
  • Naxos Music Library
    Streaming database of the entire Naxos recording catalog and other acquired labels.
  • RILM
    Very scholarly database containing over 500 music related journals and many other print resources such as conference proceedings, reviews and festschriften.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Cari Alexander

Our New Blog!!

Check out our new blog about our CDs!

  • Stuff I Listen To At Work
    Systematic listening project of all 8K+ CD recordings in the TCU Music/Media Library by the librarian and two grad assistants. Music criticism with a splash of wit and a twist of the mind.

© 2009-present TCU Library | Texas Christian University
TCU Box 298400, Fort Worth, TX 76129 | +1 817.257.7117 | Fax: 817.257.7282

Link to Texas Christian University home page. A Federal depository. A Texas State Depository. Accessibility services TCU Library Mobile Site Icon. Visit the mobile device web site. Bookmark This Page on Delicious Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip