Skip to main content

American History: Since 1877: Home

Research guide for students taking American History: Since 1877

Welcome Message

Welcome to this research guide in American History. I am Robyn Reid, the librarian for history topics. In this research guide, you will find recommendations on where to look for resources in American History. 

Subject Guide

Robyn Reid's picture
Robyn Reid
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Librarian for: Anthropology, Criminal Justice, Communication Studies, Education, Geography, History, Military Science, Political Science
Contact:
817.257.5337

Search Frog Scholar

Recommended Databases

JSTOR

An electronic journal collection consisting of the full text of back issues of journals in many different subject areas. It is especially strong in Arts and Sciences.Coverage dates: Varies.

JSTOR Logo

America: History and Life

America: History and Life with Full Text covers the history of the United States and Canada from prehistoric times to the present. Limited to 6 users at once.

America: History and Life Logo

Project Muse

Peer-reviewed journal articles for a variety of topics.

Project Muse Logo

American History 1493-1945

Contains primary source documents from the earliest settlers to the mid-twentieth century. Coverage dates: 1493-1945.

American History 1493-1945 Logo

HathiTrust

This digital collection includes books and primary source documents from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, and libraries around the world.

HathiTrust Logo

Slavery, Abolition, & Social Justice

Primary and secondary sources on slavery, abolition, and social justice.

Slavery, Abolition, & Social Justice Database Logo

Search Tips

Venn diagram demonstrates how to use AND to connect two keywords

Using "AND"

Use the word AND to connect words together. Instead of searching for: History of World War II, type:

"World War II" AND history

Venn diagram of two overlapping circles to demonstrate how to connect words with OR

Using "OR"

Use "OR" to broaden your search by looking for two related terms. For example:

"Great Britain" OR England