Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Sociology: Finding Data & Statistics

This is a guide for students researching topics in Sociology.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Robyn Reid
she / her
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Librarian for: Anthropology, Criminal Justice, Communication Studies, Education, Geography, History, Military Science, Political Science
Contact:
817-257-5337

Learn About Data

Data & Statistics Best Bets

Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research

Data archive from an international consortium of academic institutions and research organizations. Coverage dates: 1790 to Current.

ICPSR Logo

Polling the Nations

Full text of 700K questions and responses from 18k+ public opinion surveys and 1700+ polling organizations. Polls for the U.S and more than 100 other countries. Data on all the pressing social issues of the day.

ProQuest Statistical Insight

Contains Statistical data from government and international organizations. Includes statistics for popular topics such as human trafficking, identity theft, housing prices, and more.

Proquest Statistical Insight Logo

Data Planet

Data-Planet Statistical Datasets provides easy access to the largest repository of standardized and structured statistical data. The Data-Planet repository contains more than 25 billion data points from more than 70 source organizations.

Data Planet Logo

SimplyAnalytics

A web-based mapping application that allows you to create exportable maps and reports using powerful demographic, business, and marketing data. Maps can be created at the zip code, city, or county level. You must create an account in order to save your work.

Simply Analytics Logo

Social Explorer

Allows users to create fast, intuitive, and appealing maps and reports to help visually analyze and understand demography and social change throughout history. Coverage dates: 1790 - present.

Social Explorer Logo

Finding Data & Statistics

Some of these datasets are available for free online, and some are available through a library subscription.