Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use these databases to find articles, chemical properties, reactions, and other information.
SciFinder is a comprehensive source of chemical and related scientific information, including the many different types of organic and inorganic substances. Other information includes patent and journal references, regulated chemicals, chemical reactions and chemical supplier information. Includes the ability to search by structure. Coverage dates: 1957 - current.
Web of Science
A citation database that allows you to search the online versions of Science Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index. The analyze tool can be used to filter results by author, publication year, journal subject category, institution, language or source title.
Combined Chemical Dictionary
The Combined Chemical Dictionary provides access to chemical, physical, and structural data on 620,000 compounds.
Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Handbook of Chemistry and Physics is a searchable database of the information contained in the print edition, including being able to search by molecular formula and physical properties.
Provides the most comprehensive coverage on medical research, clinical practice, administration and policy issues from thousands of journals.
Current Chemical Reactions
Current Chemical Reactions searches synthetic methods reported in over 100 of the world's leading organic chemistry journals. Each reaction provides complete reaction diagrams, critical conditions, bibliographic data, and author abstracts. Coverage dates: 1840 - current.
Derwent Innovations Index
Derwent Innovations Index facilitates rapid, precise patent searching. This databases focuses on chemical, electrical, electronic, and mechanical engineering. Researchers can quickly grasp a patent's significance and its relationship to other patents.
Index Chemicus searches chemical compound information and critical supporting data for organic compounds. This database offers full graphical summaries, reaction diagrams, and complete citation information. Coverage dates: 1993 - current.
The ACS (American Chemical Society) Publications website provides online access to all ACS journals, dating back to 1879. It provides access to over 40 ACS journals. Coverage dates: 1879 - current.
Royal Society of Chemistry Publications
The Royal Chemistry Society publishes over 30 journals, dating back to 1876.
ChemSpider is a free collection of compound data from across the web, provided by the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC). It aggregates chemical structures and their associated information into a single searchable repository.
Spectral Database for Organic Compounds (SDBS)
A free online database of spectra information, including NMR, FT-IR, Raman, and others.
Dictionary of Commonly Cited Compounds
The Dictionary of Commonly Cited Compounds contains the top 25,000 most commonly cited compounds in Chemical Abstracts (excluding polymers and biologicals) in a dictionary format.
Dictionary of Drugs
Presenting more than 14,000 entries with accurate, up-to-date, and concise information on more than 54,000 compounds, the Dictionary of Drugs is a one-stop resource for the medicinal chemist.
Dictionary of Food Compounds
The Dictionary of Food Compounds provides wide-ranging information on 69,000 compounds found in food, including additives, flavors, natural food constituents, contaminants, and nutraceuticals.
Dictionary of Inorganic and Organometallic Compounds
Two highly respected titles, the Dictionary of Inorganic Compounds and the Dictionary of Organometallic Compounds, have been brought together into this single, structure-searchable database of over 100,000 compounds.
Dictionary of Marine Natural Products
The Dictionary of Marine Natural Products is a comprehensive resource for more than 50,000 known natural products isolated from marine organisms.
Dictionary of Natural Products
The Dictionary of Natural Products is a comprehensive structure database containing over 265,000 natural products. Continually reviewed to keep pace with the current literature, this database is the most comprehensive source of natural product information available.
Dictionary of Organic Compounds
Dictionary of Organic Compounds has built a world-wide reputation as an indispensable reference work over its 70 years of publication. This carefully curated database contains over 106,000 entries comprising more than 314,000 organic compounds.
Polymers: A Property Database
Polymers: A Property Database contains information 1,000 polymers and 15,000 monomers, including trade names, properties, constituent monomers, commercial applications, manufacturing processes, and references.
Properties of Organic Compounds
Properties of Organic Compounds contains over 29,000 of the most commonly sought organic compounds, featuring physical data and spectral data.
ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication
This is the online edition of the American Chemical Society style guide.
Good general databases
These databases are very general in nature.
Academic Search Ultimate
Scholarly journals, newspapers, magazines, videos, and trade publications covering multiple subjects. Coverage dates: 1887 – present
Gale Science in Context
Contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. By integrating authoritative, curriculum-aligned reference content with headlines and videos, it draws students into the subject matter, showing how scientific disciplines relate to real-world issues, from weather patterns to obesity. Coverage dates: current.
Dissertations and Theses at TCU
Contains full text of dissertations and theses produced by TCU students. The Current Research@ Gateway link on the main page will also let you view 24 page previews of dissertations and theses submitted at other participating institutions from 1999-present.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Contains online encyclopedias and other other reference sources on a wide variety of topics.