World War I: Online Resources

With its unparalleled World War I collections, the Library of Congress is uniquely prepared to tell the story of the United States' participation in the Great War. The Library of Congress is commemorating the 100th anniversary of U.S. entry into the war with exhibitions, lectures, symposia, film programs, recordings, publications, veterans' stories, educational tools, and research guides to the Library's remarkable World War I resources.

As the largest repository of American World War I records, the National Archives invites you to browse the wealth of records and information documenting the U.S. experience in this conflict, including photographs, documents, audiovisual recordings, educational resources, articles, blog posts, lectures, and events.

Post from the series “Milestones in the History of U.S. Foreign Relations” by the Office of the Historian. Other posts from this series include 1914–1920: World War One and Wilsonian Diplomacy, U.S. Invasion and Occupation of Haiti, 1915–34, U.S. Entry into World War I, 1917, Wilson’s Fourteen Points, 1918, The Bullitt Mission to Soviet Russia, 1919, The Paris Peace Conference and the Treaty of Versailles and The League of Nations, 1920

Article from DoD News by Jim Garamone which was posted on the U.S. Department of Defense site.

The Veterans History Project of the American Folklife Center collects, preserves, and makes accessible the personal accounts of American war veterans so that future generations may hear directly from veterans and better understand the realities of war.

When President Woodrow Wilson issued the declaration of war against Germany April 6, 1917, he told the American people that "the supreme test of the nation has come. We must all speak, act, and serve together." While American troops fought in the trenches of Europe, United States Marshals protected the home front against enemy aliens, spies, saboteurs, and slackers.

The United States joined in the war April 6, 1917, but the story does not begin or end there. Where does the story of World War I intersect with the stories of national parks? The answers might surprise you.

Featured article from the Summer 2017 issue of Humanities Magazine by Meredith Hindley.

Throughout American history, wartime necessity has often opened new political and social avenues for marginalized groups. This familiar scenario played out after the United States intervened in the First World War in April 1917.

govinfo.gov provides access to the Congressional Record which is the official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. It is published daily when Congress is in session. The Congressional Record began publication in 1873 and is still published today. Valuable information regarding WWI can be found in the digitized pages and are searchable.

The 24 million World War I Draft Registration Cards in the custody of the National Archives at Atlanta provide an invaluable resource for academic researchers and genealogists. This series of records includes cards from all 50 states and Puerto Rico. Notable draft cards include Louis Armstrong, Fred Astaire, Ty Cobb and George Gershwin.

Images, articles, documents and publications detailing the Coast Guard's involvement in World War I

Starting with the anniversary of the United States' entry into the war on 6 April 2017, through the anniversary of Armistice Day on 11 November 2018, the Naval History and Heritage Command will commemorate the 100th anniversary of the Navy’s experiences in World War I. Throughout the commemoration, the Naval History and Heritage Command will feature documents that will allow you to see the war through the eyes of the participants. In addition to these highlights, you can learn more by exploring additional resources from the command.

2014-2018 commemorates the centennial of the First World War. High above the trenches, our soldiers witnessed the advent of military aviation, which forever altered the shape of modern combat and made World War I unlike any other conflict in human history. On the 100th anniversary of this great and terrible struggle, we reflect on the sacrifice of our nation's servicemen and the war whose enduring legacy shaped the social, military and political fabric of the 20th century.

This Web site was designed and developed to support the teaching of American History in K-12 schools and colleges and is supported by the College of Education at the University of Houston.

This archive of primary documents from World War One has been assembled by volunteers of the World War I Military History List (WWI-L). International in focus, the archive intends to present in one location primary documents concerning the Great War. The World War I Document Archive has resided on the server of the Brigham Young University Library since February 1996.

The Great War profoundly changed not just the geo-political landcape of Europe, and an entire generation, but also the culture, economics, politics, and technology of countries outside the immediate combatants. To commemorate the United States' entry into World War I in April 1917, Smithsonian Libraries present selections from their collections related to aviation and military history as well as politics, comics and fine art from that period.

The sections in this object group do not progress chronologically. Instead, they are arranged by collection type and subject matter. The latter sections of this object group highlight resources related to women in World War I that are held by other Smithsonian museums and archives. The Women in World War I object group was made possible through the generous support of Bette and Lindsey Hagan and the James Lollar Hagan Internship program.

15 Minute History is a podcast series is devoted to short, accessible discussions of important topics in World History and US History. The discussions will be conducted by the award winning faculty and graduate students at the University of Texas at Austin.

The Eberly Family Special Collections Library at Penn State University has digitized a collection of 368 stereographs that document trench warfare during World War I.

The National WWI Museum and Memorial is America's leading institution dedicated to remembering, interpreting and understanding the Great War and its enduring impact on the global community.

The Texas World War I Centennial organization is part of the National World War I Centennial Commission (WWICC). Texas is committed to commemorating the role of Texas and Texans in the Great War, especially as we approach the 100 year anniversary of U.S. involvement in 2017-2019.

The United States Holocaust Memorial Museum is the United States' official memorial to the Holocaust. Adjacent to the National Mall in Washington, D.C., the USHMM provides for the documentation, study, and interpretation of Holocaust history.

The U.S. World War I Centennial Commission was created by an Act of Congress in 2013. The plan of the Commission was to execute programs, projects and activities to commemorate the Centennial of World War I.

Two lectures regarding World War I: "Interchange: World War I" and "Why World War I Matters in American History"

The Poetry Foundation, publisher of Poetry magazine, is an independent literary organization committed to a vigorous presence for poetry in our culture. It exists to discover and celebrate the best poetry and to place it before the largest possible audience. This page highlights the poems written in the trenches to elegies for the dead, these poems commemorate the Great War.