World War I: Historical Research

Historical primary sources from around the world about a variety of subjects. Coverage dates: 1400 - present

Experiences of soldiers, civilians and governments on both sides of the conflict. Includes personal narratives, wartime propaganda and recruitment material, the global reach of the conflict, and the role of women in war. Coverage dates: 1914 - 1929

Primary sources from the Library of Congress and other institutions around the world. Coverage dates: 900 - present

Includes U.K., U.S., and U.S. Black newspapers collections from Proquest. Coverage dates: 1880 - 2000

Historical newspaper articles. Coverage dates: 1759 - 2006

Prominent British newspaper. Coverage dates: 1785 - 6 years ago

Literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and more. Coverage dates: 1740 - 1940

Journals, newspapers, and magazines covering a range of topics such as literature, drama, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts, and the social sciences. Coverage dates: 1681 - 2005

Primary sources from soldiers in World War I. Coverage dates: 1914 - 1918

Congressional hearings, public issues, legislation, member biographies, committee assignments, voting records, financial data, and key regulatory and statutory resources. Coverage dates: 1789 - present

Government information, ebooks, and primary sources from a variety of places, including Google, the Internet Archive, and libraries around the world. Coverage dates: 1850 - present

Audio music from America's past including Native Americans, immigrants, slaves, pioneers, civil rights, politics, Prohibition, Revolutionary and Civil Wars, anti-war protests and more. Coverage dates: Current

Online version of the Naxos sound recording catalog and other labels covering Medieval to Contemporary music. Notes and biographical information. Playlists may be created. Player does not work on Safari. Coverage dates: Current

Academic videos from BroadwayHD, Milestone Films, Sony Pictures Classics, and more. Subcollections include art & design, health sciences, history, literature & language, social sciences, science & engineering, history, and performing arts (dance, music, and theatre). Coverage dates: 1898 - present

Historical documentary videos for eras 1500 - 1999, from PBS, Documentary Educational Resources, BullFrog Films, the History Channel, and others, with original newsreels from 1929 - 1967. Coverage dates: 1894 - present

Videos on multiple subjects from Films for the Humanities and Sciences, PBS, History Channel, National Geographic, TED, global television networks, and more. Embedding, linking, and interactive transcripts are available. Coverage dates: 1903 - present

Images from archives all over the world. Subject areas include art, architecture, music, religion, anthropology, literature, and world history. Coverage dates: 1000 BCE - present

Genealogy resources including U.S. and U.K. census data, ships' logs and passenger indexes, vital records, WWI draft cards, maps, reference ebooks, and more. Basic library subscription. Users will need a personal subscription to create a tree online. Coverage dates: 1400 - 1999