Different databases use a range of truncation and wildcard symbols and phrase searching features. In an effort to minimize looking up which databases do what, below I’ve created tables that will show which databases use which symbols and in what capacity.
Click on Databases to find truncation, wildcards and phrase searches are applicable:
|
Database/Platform |
Truncation |
Wildcard |
Phrase Searching |
|
Clinical Key |
Not Available |
Not Available |
Phrase search is supported only for one entire search phrase. No Boolean operators are supported. Enclose phrases in double quotes. |
|
Database/Platform |
Truncation |
Wildcard |
Phrase Searching |
|
Cochrane Library |
* |
? |
Enclose phrases in double quotes. |
|
Database/Platform |
Truncation |
Wildcard |
Phrase Searching |
|
EBSCOhost Abstracts in Social Gerontology Academic Search Complete AGRICOLA Alt Health Watch American Doctoral Dissertations PsycArticles Business Source Complete CINAHL ERIC Family Studies Abstracts Global Health GreenFile Health Source: Nursing/Academic MEDLINE Complete Political Science Complete PsycArticle Psychology and Behavioral Science PsycINFO Social Work Abstracts Social Work Reference Center SocIndex SportDiscus |
* |
? represents 1 character # represents zero or one character |
Enclose phrases in double quotes. |
|
Database/Platform |
Truncation |
Wildcard |
Phrase Searching |
|
Embase |
* |
? represents 1 character # represents zero or one character |
Enclose phrases in single quotes. |
|
Database/Platform |
Truncation |
Wildcard |
Phrase Searching |
|
Gale Databases Health Reference Center Academic Nursing & Allied Health Collection Academic One File Opposing View Points |
* |
? represents 1 character ?? represents 2 characters ! represents 0 or 1 character |
Enclose phrases in double quotes. |
|
Database/Platform |
Truncation |
Wildcard |
Phrase Searching |
|
JSTOR |
* |
? |
Enclose phrases in double quotes. |
|
Database/Platform |
Truncation |
Wildcard |
Phrase Searching |
|
LexisNexis |
! |
* |
Two or more words default to a phrase |
|
Database/Platform |
Truncation |
Wildcard |
Phrase Searching |
|
NewsBank Newspapers |
* |
? represents 1 character ?? represents 2 or more characters |
Enclose phrases in double quotes. |
|
Database/Platform |
Truncation |
Wildcard |
Phrase Searching |
|
OvidSP (Advanced Search Only) Joanna Briggs Institute Nursing @ Ovid Ovid MEDLINE Social Work Abstracts |
* or $ |
# represents 1 letter or number ? represents 0 or 1 letter/number |
Two or more words default to a phrase |
|
Database/Platform |
Truncation |
Wildcard |
Phrase Searching |
|
Project MUSE |
* |
Not Available |
Enclose phrases in double quotes. |
|
Database/Platform |
Truncation |
Wildcard |
Phrase Searching |
|
ProQuest Communication Sciences & Disorders Government Periodicals Index Nursing & Allied Health Physical Education Index Physical Therapy & Sports Media Social Services Abstracts |
* |
? represents 1 character ?? represents 2 or more characters |
Enclose phrases in double quotes. |
|
Database/Platform |
Truncation |
Wildcard |
Phrase Searching |
|
PubMed |
* |
Not Available |
Enclose phrases in double quotes. |
|
Database/Platform |
Truncation |
Wildcard |
Phrase Searching |
|
Sage Sage Premier Sage Research Methods |
* |
? |
Two or more words default to a phrase |
|
Database/Platform |
Truncation |
Wildcard |
Phrase Searching |
|
ScienceDirect |
* |
? |
Enclose phrases in double quotes. |
|
Database/Platform |
Truncation |
Wildcard |
Phrase Searching |
|
Scopus |
* |
? |
() braces or brackets for exact phrase. Enclose phrases in double quotes for adjacent terms, but not necessarily in an exact phrase. |
|
Database/Platform |
Truncation |
Wildcard |
Phrase Searching |
|
TRIP Database |
Not available |
Not Available |
Enclose phrases in double quotes. |
|
Database/Platform |
Truncation |
Wildcard |
Phrase Searching |
|
Web of Science BIOSIS Citation Index Current Contents Connect Data Citation Index Derwent Innovations Index KCI-Korean Journal Database MEDLINe Russian Science Citation Index SciELO Citation Index Zoological Record |
* |
? represents 1 character $ represents 0 or 1 character |
Enclose phrases in double quotes. |
|
Database/Platform |
Truncation |
Wildcard |
Phrase Searching |
|
Wiley Online |
* |
* ? represents 1 character |
Enclose phrases in double quotes. |
