Searching by TITLE
Recommend that you use quotations to help narrow the search
Be sure to select Collection next to the search box in order to find items in the digital collections
Searching for a Congressional Hearing by SuDoc Number
Many early Congressional hearings that have not yet been digitized on FDsys or the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications can be found on HathiTrust.
Some SuDoc numbers may be referred to in numerous documents, so you may have to scroll through the list to find the exact title. In this example the appropriate document was listed first.
To narrow the search results you can choose the Advanced Search option circled in the example above
In Advanced Search you can type in words from the title and/or the year during or after it was published to narrow the search results
By limiting the search it was narrowed down to one single document
The advantage to advanced full-text searches is that you can search information within of about an item. You can search by:
The following is an example of a title search for a government document:
By searching for documents in the U.S. Federal Documents collection you are limiting your search to only government documents. You can access the U.S. Federal Documents collection from this guide or by going to the HathiTrust Digital Library, clicking on Collections and choosing Featured Collections. Scroll down to find the U.S. Federal Documents Collection.
To search within the collection, type in the topics you are searching for using AND/OR if you are searching for multiple subjects and be sure to click on full view only to be sure your results only include full documents.
The results provided will only be government documents and you can further narrow your search by subject, author or date of publication for example by using the column to the left of the results.
Government Documents in our catalog that have links to HathiTrust
Through coordinated and collective action, HathiTrust expands and enhances digital access to U.S. federal publications including those issued by GPO and other federal agencies.
Collections:
HathiTrust has made an effort to put together collections as a way to group items for public or private use. The full-text of items within a collection can be searched independently of the full library helping you to focus your searches to include only certain types of items like government documents. The following are collections created by HathiTrust of federal documents:
HathiTrust has created a detailed User's Guide that is very helpful when learning to use this valuable database.
Below you will find several examples of basic ways to search for U.S. Federal Government Documents.
User guides developed by the HathiTrust Communications Working Group:
Chronicle of Higher Education
Texas Digital Library
University of Toronto
