Finding Data & Statistics: Health/Health Care & Mortality

Statistical and data tables produced by the California Department of Public Health.

Includes FastStats by topic and full text of many of the statistical publications the NCHS produces (e.g., Vital and Health Statistics Series reports).

Demographics, Health Status Indicators, Pediatric & Prenatal Care, Health Insurance, Medicaid, HIV/AIDS. Data by state.

DHS STATcompiler is an online database tool that allows users to select numerous countries and hundreds of indicators to create customized tables that serve their specific data needs. It accesses nearly all of the DHS population and health indicators.

Abortion, Hysterectomy, Infant Health. Interactive Atlas of Reproductive Health, International Reproductive Health Surveys, Maternal Health, Tobacco Use and Pregnancy, Unintended and Teen Pregnancy Prevention, Women's Reproductive Health

Earlier years: Historical Statistics of the U.S.

WISQARSTM (Web-based Injury Statistics Query and Reporting System) is an interactive database system that provides customized reports of injury-related data including suicide.

This is the NCI's SEER (Surveillance, Epidemiology, and End Results) Program web site containing statistical publications including the SEER Cancer Statistics Review 1973-present and Racial/Ethnic patterns of Cancer in the U.S.

Child Survival and Health, Child Nutrition, Maternal Health, Water and Sanitation, Education, Child Protection, HIV/AIDS, MDG (Millennium Development Goals) Monitoring. Data by Country.

Health expenditures, mortality by disease, number of practicing nurses and physicians, life expectancy and risk behavior. Data by country back to 1960.

Main sources of HIV/AIDS indicators in the database are the Demographic and Health Surveys (DHS), Multiple Indicator Cluster Surveys (MICS), Reproductive Health Surveys (RHS), the Sexual Behavior Surveys (SBS), and Behavioral Surveillance Surveys (BSS)

Annual report provides regional and country statistics on illegal use of drugs and drug trafficking.

Draws on a variety of data sources including administrative statistics and household surveys compiled by the World Bank Group and its client countries, World Health Organization (WHO), United Nations Children's Fund (UNICEF) etc. Include mortality, immunization, malnutrion etc.

This data set contains counts of AIDS (Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome) cases reported to CDC by state and local health departments from 1981+. Case counts can be retrieved by demographics, case-definition, date of diagnosis, date of report, HIV exposure group (risk factors), and mortality.

National and sub-national data on family planning, maternal and child health, child survival, HIV/AIDS/sexually transmitted infections (STIs), infectious diseases, reproductive health and nutrition. Surveys have been conducted in 32 countries in Sub-Saharan Africa, 7 countries in North Africa/West Asia/Europe, 10 countries in South and Southeast Asia, and 13 countries in Latin America and the Caribean. Microdata are available free of charge by request.

The Guatemalan Survey of Family Health was designed to examine the way in which rural Guatemalan families and individuals cope with childhood illness and pregnancy, and the role of ethnicity, poverty, social support, and health beliefs in this process. The EGSF sample includes all rural communities in four of Guatemala's 22 departments.

The HMCA preserves and disseminates health care data collected by researchers. Subjects covered include Health Care Providers, Cost/Access to Health Care, Substance Abuse and Health, Chronic Health Conditions, and Other.

A list of over 500 studies, surveys, and polls of assorted major and minor health datasets held at ICPSR.

The HCUP is the largest collection of longitudinal hospital care data in the United States, with all-payer, discharge-level information beginning in 1988.

Harmonized data and documentation for the U.S. National Health Interview Survey (NHIS)

The JCUSH was a research study conducted by Statistics Canada and the National Center for Health Statistics, U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Data collection began in November 2002 and ended in March 2003. The JCUSH was a one-time, random telephone survey in both countries.

The Medical Expenditure Panel Survey, or MEPS as it is commonly called, is the third (and most recent) in a series of national probability surveys conducted by AHRQ on the financing and utilization of medical care in the United States.

The Mexican Health and Aging Study (MHAS) is a prospective panel study of health and aging in Mexico, with national and urban/rural representation. The baseline survey was conducted in the Summer of 2001, and a follow-up is planned for the Spring-Summer of 2003.

NAMCS contains data on medical care provided in physicians' offices. It is a continuously sampled survey based on a nationwide sample of patient records.

The principle US Governmental health statistics agency, NCHS collects data from birth and death records, medical records, interview surveys, and through direct physical exams and laboratory testing.

A comprehensive look at the well-being of children and non-elderly adults, and reveals sometimes striking differences among the 13 states studied in depth.

Examines national health systems from 1960 forward for OECD member countries in a general, demographic, economic, and social context.

This site makes available data from some of the Population Research Center's projects. Interesting datasets include the National Health and Social Life Survey, the Chicago Health and Social Life Survey, and the Chinese Health and Family Life Survey. These surveys profile sexual behavior, demography and health.

US birth and death data. Can be downloaded or analyzed online through VitalStats or WONDER.

The Women's Healthy Eating & Living (WHEL) Study was an NIH-supported clinical trial. In compliance with the terms and conditions of NIH's Data Sharing Policy as well as to promote the concept of data sharing, these data are being made publicly available. Also in accordance with NIH policy, the datasets include only de-identified data and documentation. All personally identifiable health information such as dates or study sites has been removed in accordance with the HIPAA privacy rule.

From the United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC)

The California Department of Health Services conducts surveys of attitudes, behaviors, and media exposure regarding smoking and tobacco use as components of the smoking cessation evaluation effort required by California Assembly Bills AB75, AB99 and AB816. The objective of these surveys is to collect representative statewide data on cigarette smoking behavior, attitudes towards smoking, media exposure to smoking, and use of tobacco products other than cigarettes, from adults and teenagers living in California. These surveys are conducted approximately every three years through contracts with the University of California, San Diego (UC San Diego) and Westat, Inc. to measure changes in attitudes and behaviors in the California population. The California Tobacco Survey (CTS) was conducted in 1990-1991, 1992, 1993, 1996, 1999, 2002 and 2005. The 1990-1991 survey includes an adult pregnancy supplement.

Tracks health risks in the United States over ten years, national and state data.

Statistics on deaths and injuries caused by college drinking from the NIAAA.

Chartbook from the NCHS indicating Trends in the Health of Americans. This resource includes over 140 trend tables including topics such as fertility, natality and mortality. Includes Mental Health Expenditures and other data.

Annual report provides regional and country statistics on illegal use of drugs and drug trafficking.

Sponsored by the Substance Abuse & Mental Health Services Administration, an Agency of the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services.

Microdata from government drug abuse and mental health surveys, 1970s to the present.

Current news, trends and national and state data on substance abuse.

Survey data starting in 1991 based on high school questionnaire about health behavior.

Assesses the health status and health behaviors of U.S. adults aged 65 years and older and makes recommendations to improve the mental and physical health of all Americans in their later years. The report includes national- and state-based report cards that examine 15 key indicators of older adult health, strategies to improve the health and quality of life of older adults, and state examples that highlight innovative healthy aging efforts at the state and community level.

Established in 1984 to track behavioral health risk in the United States. Behavior and risk categories include: exercise, being overweight, use of seatbelts, tobacco and alcohol, etc.

Topics covered include: health care providers, cost of and access to health sare, substance abuse, chronic conditions, and other health related topics.

An ongoing study of the behaviors, attitudes, and values of American secondary school students, college students, and young adults. Each year, a total of approximately 50,000 8th, 10th and 12th grade students are surveyed. A number of questions on drug use are asked.

Drug and alcohol use incidence and prevalence estimates and report the consequences and patterns of use and abuse in the general U.S. civilian population aged 12 and older. Also asks a set of questions about mental health treatment.

An archive of longitudinal mental health data, compiled over an eight year period with the support of the National Institute of Mental Health. Application must be made directly to the Murray Research Archive for permission to use the data.

The goal of this archive is to provide access to substance abuse and mental health research data and to promote the use of the data in understanding and assessing substance abuse and mental health problems and the impact of related treatment systems.

Provides an overview of key health indicators for local communities.

Includes downloadable microdata as well as links to CDC WONDER and the Web-based Injury Statistics Query and Reporting System.

ASCII record-delimited files compressed in .zip format. Contains records of deaths from 1936 and later that have been reported to the Social Security Administration. Includes the following information on each decedent, if the data are available to the SSA: social security number, name, date of birth, date of death, state or country of residence (Feb. 1988 and prior), ZIP code of last residence, and ZIP code of lump sum payment.