Finding Data & Statistics: Economic & Financial Data

MDAT is a unique data analysis and extraction tool-with recoding capabilities-to customize federal, state, and local data to suit your requirements. TheDataWeb brings together under one umbrella demographic, economic, environmental, health, (and more) datasets that are usually separated by geography and/or organization.

A database with hundreds of variables for the US and the world.

Download, graph, and track 61,000 US and international time series from 48 sources. From the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis. Includes a range of U.S. and international economic data (price indexes, exchange rates, interest rates, GDP, trade balances, etc.). Useful features include easy browsing for U.S. regional data (states, MSAs, counties, BEA regions, Fed districts, Census divisions) and links to Liber8, the Fed's portal to current economic indicators, research and recent reports, and GeoFRED, a data-mapping tool which displays color-coded employment data on the state, MSA, and county levels.

Part of the Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED) website, GeoFRED is a data-mapping tool which displays color-coded employment data on the state, MSA, and county levels.

A set of surveys designed to gather information at multiple points in time on the labor market activities and other significant life events of several groups of men and women. For more than 4 decades, NLS data have served as an important tool for economists and other researchers.

These pages feature links to sets constructed by National Bureau of Economic Research authors and feature historical datasets as well links to recent sets related to economic indicators, industry, trade, demographics, and more.

The World Bank
The WDI includes 1000+ indicators from 209 countries spanning from 1960 to 2010.
Topics include: Agriculture & Rural Development, Aid Effectiveness, Economic Policy and External Debt, Education, Energy & Mining, Environment, Financial Sector, Health, Infrastructure, Labor & Social Protection, Poverty, Private Sector, Public Sector, Science & Technology, Social Development, Urban Development

Access the world's largest collection of social science research data here by searching across or browsing through one of the virtual data archives (called "dataverses") listed below. Data is uploaded by researchers from around the world.

Find data across research fields, preview metadata, and download files.

This public opinion database maintained by the University of North Carolina contains more than 230,000 questions from surveys conducted since 1958. It is the repository for all Louis Harris public opinion data and Roper Center nonproprietary poll data as well as state-level polling organizations from 22 states, with strong coverage of Southern states. Questions are searchable by keyword, date, study number, study title, or state.

The Public Policy Institute of California (PPIC) is a private nonprofit organization dedicated to informing and improving public policy in California through independent, objective, nonpartisan research.

AidData is a collaborative initiative to provide products and services that promote the dissemination, analysis, and understanding of development finance information. At the core of the AidData program is the AidData web portal, which is a gateway to nearly 1 million records of development finance activities from donors around the world.

An Enterprise Survey is a firm-level survey of a representative sample of an economy’s private sector. The surveys cover a broad range of business environment topics including access to finance, corruption, infrastructure, crime, competition, and performance measures. The World Bank has collected this data from face-to-face interviews with top managers and business owners in over 130,000 companies in 125 economies.

The data presented here are the most widely-used, official-source development data from the World Bank and other international agencies, including external debt, GDP, and GNI per capita.

has data on almost 5,000 infrastructure projects in 139 low- and middle-income countries. The database is the leading source of PPI trends in the developing world, covering projects in the energy, telecommunications, transport, and water and sewerage sectors.

World energy data including petroleum & other liquids, natural gas, electricity, consumption & efficiency, coal, renewable & alternative fuels, nuclear & uranium, and total energy.

Topics include:
Coal
CO2 emissions
Electricity
Energy balances
Energy efficiency
Natural gas
Oil
Prices and taxes
RD&D
Renewables

Provides annual and quarterly income statement, balance sheet, statement of cash flows, and supplemental data items on most publicly held companies. Also contains information on aggregates, industry segments, banks, market prices, dividends, and earnings. If you have not created a WRDS account, you can sign up here.

Most comprehensive collection of security price, return, and volume data for the NYSE, AMEX and Nasdaq stock markets. Additional files provide stock indices, treasury bond and risk-free rates, and mutual fund databases. If you have not created a WRDS account, you can sign up here.

From the St. Louis Fed: Data Publications, as well as Statistical Releases from several sources such as the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System, and government agencies such as the Bureau of Labor Statistics.

Includes the Consumer Price Index (CPI), and statistics on employment & unemployment statistics, pay & compensation cost data, spending, time use, productivity, workplace injuries, etc.

Time-series statistics on 188 countries and over 30 subjects, including population and components of GDP, primarily for the period 1950-2004, 2000 as base year.

UNCTAD compiles, validates and processes a wide range of data collected from national and international sources. Through its data dissemination system, UNCTADstat, it provides free access to comprehensive statistical time series and indicators essential for the analysis of world trade, investment, international financial flows, and development.

The WEO database is created during the biannual World Economic Outlook (WEO) exercise. Selected series that are available in the WEO publication are now available on this website. Includes: GDP, investment, gross national savings, US dollar exchange rate, inflation, unemployment rate, general government balance, debt, current account balance. Annual data, from 1980, with projections to 2005.

This website includes a range of U.S. and international economic data (price indexes, exchange rates, interest rates, GDP, trade balances, etc.). Useful features include easy browsing for U.S. regional data (states, MSAs, counties, BEA regions, Fed districts, Census divisions) and links to Liber8, the Fed's portal to current economic indicators, research and recent reports, and GeoFRED, a data-mapping tool which displays color-coded employment data on the state, MSA, and county levels.

Part of the Federal Reserve Economic Data website, GeoFRED is a data-mapping tool which displays color-coded employment data on the state, MSA, and county levels.

This San Diego county website links to data on population characteristics, such as demographics and employment, as well as transportation and crime statistics, land use, and population and employment estimates and forecasts.

Selected population and housing estimates from 1990-1998 for San Diego County, at the city, subregional, and census tract levels.

San Diego Census data for 1950.