LibGuides: Modern Language Studies: Specific Language Resources

Resources

ARTFL Project
French literature, ranging from classic works to non-fiction. The 18th to the 20th century are mostly represented, with a selection of 17th century, medieval, and Renaissance texts. The corpus is updated as new high-quality digital texts become available. Coverage dates: 1600 - 1999
Edmond Huguet, Dictionnaire de la langue francaise du 16e siecle
The 16th century dictionary by Edmond Huguet constitutes the essential reference for Renaissance language. The dictionary offers almost all words of the Renaissance language. Huguet explored 15th and 17th century words to provide his lexicon with a historical perspective. Coverage dates: 1400 to 1600
Grand Corpus des litteratures francaise et francophone, du Moyen Age au 20e siècle
French and Francophone literature from the Middle Ages to the 20th century, including French-language literature of Black Africa, from origins to independence, and French-language literature of the Indian Ocean, from origins to independence.. Coverage dates: Middle Ages to 2000
La Critique littéraire, Le XIXe siècle / Literary criticism, the 19th century
Works of literary criticism written by 19th Century French authors. Coverage dates: varies

Gallica Digital Library
Digitized collection containing over one million books and documents, such as manuscripts, maps, and images, and periodicals, sound recordings, music, and scores in French.

Books:

French Literature and Language Call Number Range: PQ1 through PQ3999

French History Call Number Range: DC1 through DC950

Newspapers
You may find other French language newspapers and magazines in the database PressReader

Books:

German Literature and Language Call Number Range: PT1 through PT4897

German History Call Number Range: DD

Newspapers
You may find other German language newspapers and magazines in the database PressReader

Books:

Italian Literature and Language Call Number Range: PQ4001 through PQ5999

Italian History Call Number Range: DG11 through DG999

Newspapers
You may find other Italian language newspapers and magazines in the database PressReader

Books:

Japanese Literature and Language Call Number Range: PL501 through PL889

Japanese History Call Number Range: DS801-DS897

Newspapers
You may find other Japanese language newspapers and magazines in the database PressReader

Books:

Chinese Literature and Language Call Number Range: PL1001 through PL3208

Chinese History Call Number Range: DS701-DS799.9

Newspapers
You may find other Chinese language newspapers and magazines in the database PressReader

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Mary Couts Burnett Library
TCU Box 298400
Fort Worth, TX 76129

(817) 257-5338

Subjects: Citation Tools, English Literature and Composition, Film, TV & Digital Media, Library Basics, Modern Language Studies, Reference, Spanish & Hispanic Studies, Theatre, Women and Gender Studies, Writing