Research Resources - FAME - Fashion Merchandising - LibGuides at Texas Christian University

TCU now has subscription access to The Business of Fashion (BoF) Professional

Business of Fashion (BoF) Professional
Covers the global fashion industry, with detailed reporting on retail, luxury, tech, sustainability, marketing, beauty, events, and careers. Users must create an account. Coverage dates: Current

Specialized Industry Research Databases

Statista Pro
International and domestic statistics, infographics, and market data for a wide variety of topics. Contains reports for industries, digital trends, politics, countries, and more. Statistics can be exported. Coverage dates: 2008 - present
IBISWorld
In-depth domestic and global industry analyst reports. For each industry, covers performance, outlook, segmentation, competition, market share, key statistics, ratios, and more. Light bulb icon within a report covers SWOT and call preparation questions for that industry. Coverage dates: Current
Mintel
Market research reports for U.S. and European markets. Reports include consumer behavior, SWOT analysis, brand share analysis, advertising, trends, marketing strategies, and more. Also contains reports on specific consumer groups. Coverage dates: 2001 - present
Business Source Complete
Full-text articles. Company profiles, industry analysis, consumer behavior and market research reports.

Designers & Bio Info

Bloomsbury Fashion Central
A dynamic digital hub for interdisciplinary research in fashion and dress.
Oxford Art Online
The gateway to Oxford’s art reference works, including the peer-reviewed, regularly updated Grove Dictionary of Art and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists.
Berg Fashion Library

Select a fashion designer
by using The Dictionary of Fashion and Fashion Designers
This reference resource contains a comprehensive, annotated list of the major fashion designers throughout history.

Fashion Magazines via the TCU Online Catalog

Explore Our Fashion Periodicals!

Fashion Career Info

The free US Occupational Outlook Handbook can help you find career information on duties, education and training, pay, and outlook for hundreds of occupations.

WGSN Worth Global Style Network

WGSN
Trend-analysis and research providing creative and business intelligence for the apparel, style, design and retail industries. Users must create an account. Coverage: Current

The Development of Fast Fashion

Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion : Global Perspectives
See this section: The Development of Fast Fashion by Sara Idacavage.
Fast Fashion (documentary) by Collective Eye Films, 2020.
Publication Date: 2020
The Dirty Side of the Garment Industry : fast fashion and its negative impact on environment and society by Nikolay Anguelov
Publication Date: 2015-09-04

Fashion Research Databases

Business Source Complete
Full-text articles. Company profiles, industry analysis, market research reports and SWOT analysis. Includes journals, magazines, trade publications, analyst reports, statistics, and more.
FrogScholar Advanced Search
Research across a wide range of TCU Library content with this all-in-one discovery tool. Coverage dates: 1013 CE - present
WWD.com
Online version of Women's Wear Daily. Coverage dates: 1994 - present
WGSN
The leading online trend-analysis and research service.
Just-Style
Apparel, garment & textile industry news, analysis and research. Registration required. Coverage dates: 1 year ago - present
Academic Search Ultimate
Scholarly journals, newspapers, magazines, videos, and trade publications covering multiple subjects. Coverage dates: 1887 – present
Re:source / GlobalData Intelligence Center
An apparel sourcing planning suite that helps sourcing professionals decide where to source products from.
Vogue Archive
Find images by garment type, designer and brand names. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out is included. Coverage dates: 1892 - present
GQ Archive
Cover-to-cover images from this influential men's magazines from its launch as Apparel Arts to its present title. Coverage dates: 1931 - 2019
JSTOR
Scholarly journals from first issue to 3-5 years ago, plus scholarly ebooks. Multiple subjects, especially strong in arts and sciences. Coverage dates: 1800 - present
Women's Wear Daily Archive
Archived issues of the print edition of WWD. For the most recent issues, use WWD.com from the TCU Library Database list. Coverage: 1910 - 6 months ago

Select Fashion and Related Journals

Sourcing Journal articles via Factiva

How to search for current Sourcing Journal articles via Factiva
Enter the name of the journal in quotes along with your search terms: “Sourcing Journal” and sustainability

Click for larger image

Catwalks

Vogue Runway
Photographs 1991-present of ready-to-wear collections. Searchable by season or designer (free via the Vogue Runway app).

Berg Fashion Library
Research in fashion and dress; prehistory to present. Contains fashion runway photos and images from museums around the world. Coverage dates: 1966 - present
Bloomsbury Fashion Central
Interdisciplinary research in fashion and dress. Runway and backstage photos from fashion shows, and images from museums around the world. Coverage dates: 1500 BC - present

Research Help

Lily Steinbach

Email Me

Subjects: Art & Design, Art Education, Art History, Fashion Merchandising, General Research, Graphic & Design Studies, Graphic Design, Interior Design, Reference, Studio Art

Consumer Fashion Magazines

Use the TCU Library FrogScholar Advanced Search.

Once you are in the FrogScholar database, type in your keyword, ie. boots, enter in the name of a fashion magazine like Cosmopolitan.
Be sure to set an appropriate date range to retrieve articles published during a particular time frame.

Other individual consumer fashion magazines titles are:

Allure
Cosmopolitan
Elle
Esquire
Glamour
GQ
Harper's Bazaar
InStyle
Lucky
Mademoiselle
Marie Claire
Selvedge
Seventeen
Surface: the substance of style
Teen Vogue
Vanity Fair
Vogue

Periodical Classification

What the heck is it?
Is it academic/scholarly, trade or consumer?
Is it a magazine, a journal or a newspaper?

Periodical Classification

FAME - Fashion Merchandising: Research Resources