Comprehensive Systematic Review for Advanced Practice Nursing by
A two-time AJN Book of the Year Award winner and a 2013 Doody Core Title! This distinguished text provides top-tier guidance for advanced practice nurses on how to perform a comprehensive systematic review of available research to inform scholarly work, particularly in DNP and PhD programs. With a strategic focus on the search process and assessing the quality of the evidence, this text presents, clearly and comprehensively, all of the knowledge and skills necessary to conduct a foundational CSR in eight concrete steps. This text examines how to write a CSR proposal, final report, and a policy brief based on systematic review findings. Two finished proposals and two completed systematic reviews demonstrate each step of the process from start to finish. Additionally, the text covers software used in research queries and provides helpful strategies for effectively using the search function when seeking information. The Third Edition offers four new chapters with incisive recommendations for performing a CSR and addressing new ways CSR is being implemented in today's healthcare environment. It describes the latest methodological advances, including living systematic reviews and dominance scores for economic review. Two complete CSRs along with new and updated examples throughout the book further aid readers in their pursuit of excellence in scholarly work. New to the Third Edition: New Chapters: How to choose the right critical appraisal tool Writing the final report and disseminating the results of systematic reviews Disseminating results with how to write a policy brief and/or press release on CSR results Example of a meta-analysis using GRADE Offers increased focus on dissemination Includes new and updated examples reflecting latest trends in nursing scholarly work Key Features: Provides the knowledge and skills necessary to conduct a CSR from start to finish Teaches readers how to conduct high-quality systematic reviews Instructs readers on pertinent resources and methods for optimal library-related systematic review research efforts Describes how to best search research databases to facilitate scholarly work Includes objectives, summary points, end-of-chapter exercises, discussion questions, suggested reading, and references to enhance understanding
Systematic Reviews in Health Research by
Systematic Reviews in Health Research Explore the cutting-edge of systematic reviews in healthcare In this Third Edition of the classic Systematic Reviews textbook, now titled Systematic Reviews in Health Research, a team of distinguished researchers deliver a comprehensive and authoritative guide to the rapidly evolving area of systematic reviews and meta-analysis. The book demonstrates why systematic reviews--when conducted properly--provide the highest quality evidence on clinical and public health interventions and shows how they contribute to inference in many other contexts. The new edition reflects the broad role of systematic reviews, including: Twelve new chapters, covering additional study designs, methods and software, for example, on genetic association studies, prediction models, prevalence studies, network and dose-response meta-analysis Thorough update of 15 chapters focusing on systematic reviews of interventions Access to a companion website offering supplementary materials and practical exercises (www.systematic-reviews3.org) A key text for health researchers, Systematic Reviews in Health Research is also an indispensable resource for practitioners, students, and instructors in the health sciences needing to understand research synthesis.
Piecing Together Systematic Reviews and Other Evidence Syntheses by
Systematic reviews and other evidence syntheses have a vital role in summarizing the literature, exploring gaps in research, prioritizing new research, and providing literature to support decision-making and evidence-based practices. Librarians adapt their practices as members of the higher education and research community. If they consult and teach with researchers, faculty, and students, review methods will likely be a part of their work. Piecing Together Systematic Reviews and Other Evidence Syntheses: A Guide for Librarians aims to be the definitive text on systematic reviews for librarians, information professionals, and expert searchers. Starting with an introduction to evidence syntheses, the book follows the acronym PIECCESS, a framework for the 8 phases which flow through 8 processes. The 8 phases are (1) Proposal of scope; (2) Protocol registration; (3) Preliminary findings; (4) Paper completion; (5) Preserve project; (6) Promote to stakeholders; (7) Impact compilation; (8) Updating the review. The 8 processes are Plan, Identify, Evaluate, Collect, Combine, Explain, Summarize, and Share. After the processes of a review project are covered, guidance for developing and running a service is provided as well as teaching reviews and training for librarians. The intended audience for this book is any librarian interested in consulting, collaborating, completing, or teaching reviews. It has several applications: for training librarians new to reviews, for those developing a new review service, for those wanting to establish policies for current service, and as a reference for those conducting reviews or running a service. Participating in reviews is a new frontier of librarianship, with expanded opportunities for new service, research areas, and professional activities. This book is part of the effort to standardize best practices when engaging in evidence syntheses. the review. The 8 processes are Plan, Identify, Evaluate, Collect, Combine, Explain, Summarize, and Share. After the processes of a review project are covered, guidance for developing and running a service is provided as well as teaching reviews and training for librarians. The intended audience for this book is any librarian interested in consulting, collaborating, completing, or teaching reviews. It has several applications: for training librarians new to reviews, for those developing a new review service, for those wanting to establish policies for current service, and as a reference for those conducting reviews or running a service. Participating in reviews is a new frontier of librarianship, with expanded opportunities for new service, research areas, and professional activities. This book is part of the effort to standardize best practices when engaging in evidence syntheses. the review. The 8 processes are Plan, Identify, Evaluate, Collect, Combine, Explain, Summarize, and Share. After the processes of a review project are covered, guidance for developing and running a service is provided as well as teaching reviews and training for librarians. The intended audience for this book is any librarian interested in consulting, collaborating, completing, or teaching reviews. It has several applications: for training librarians new to reviews, for those developing a new review service, for those wanting to establish policies for current service, and as a reference for those conducting reviews or running a service. Participating in reviews is a new frontier of librarianship, with expanded opportunities for new service, research areas, and professional activities. This book is part of the effort to standardize best practices when engaging in evidence syntheses. the review. The 8 processes are Plan, Identify, Evaluate, Collect, Combine, Explain, Summarize, and Share. After the processes of a review project are covered, guidance for developing and running a service is provided as well as teaching reviews and training for librarians. The intended audience for this book is any librarian interested in consulting, collaborating, completing, or teaching reviews. It has several applications: for training librarians new to reviews, for those developing a new review service, for those wanting to establish policies for current service, and as a reference for those conducting reviews or running a service. Participating in reviews is a new frontier of librarianship, with expanded opportunities for new service, research areas, and professional activities. This book is part of the effort to standardize best practices when engaging in evidence syntheses. r the processes of a review project are covered, guidance for developing and running a service is provided as well as teaching reviews and training for librarians. The intended audience for this book is any librarian interested in consulting, collaborating, completing, or teaching reviews. It has several applications: for training librarians new to reviews, for those developing a new review service, for those wanting to establish policies for current service, and as a reference for those conducting reviews or running a service. Participating in reviews is a new frontier of librarianship, with expanded opportunities for new service, research areas, and professional activities. This book is part of the effort to standardize best practices when engaging in evidence syntheses.
Making Sense of Evidence-Based Practice for Nursing by
This straightforward guide to evidence-based practice helps you to develop the knowledge and skills necessary to challenge practice that is not underpinned by research and to increase your understanding of the processes involved in accessing, appraising, and synthesizing good quality research. Providing a basic introduction to both quantitative and qualitative research, Debra Evans explores how to find out "what works best", the impact of something, and what requires more research. Readers will also learn the basic rules used in study design and statistics presented in research articles and systematic reviews. Each simply written chapter includes relevant theory, diagrams and tables, case studies, exercises, boxed summaries, and further reading. Packed with examples from practice across the nursing fields and at different levels, this book is essential for nurses - both student and qualified - who want to increase their confidence when it comes to research appraisal and evidence-based practice processes.
Writing for Publication in Nursing and Healthcare by
Writing for Publication in Nursing and Healthcare helps readers develop the skills necessary for publishing in professional journals, presenting conference papers, authoring books, research reports, and literature reviews, and more. This comprehensive resource covers all aspects of writing for publication, including good practice in reviewing, the editorial process, ethical aspects of publishing, and the rules that govern academic writing, publishing, and dissemination. Assuming no prior expertise in the subject, the text uses an accessible, step-by-step approach that incorporates a wealth of real-life examples, hands-on activities, and valuable tips throughout. The second edition reflects the latest developments, guidelines, and practices both in academic publishing and in research assessment and dissemination. New and updated material covers the increasing use of social media to disseminate published work, post-publication scrutiny, contemporary issues surrounding predatory or unethical publishers, and new requirements for research registration and submission data. Edited by leading experts in the field, this practical 'how to' guide: Describes the basics of writing for publication and how to get started Includes numerous examples illustrating the practical ways abstracts, papers, book reviews, and other publications are written and disseminated Discusses current issues and developments, such as the impact of major ethics organisations on publishing worldwide and the rise of online journals, blogging, and podcasting Features contributions by internationally recognised academics and practitioners Explains how to turn research reports and other assignments into publishable works The definitive introduction to the subject, Writing for Publication in Nursing and Healthcare is a must-have for all nurses and healthcare professionals, as well as undergraduate and graduate students in nursing and healthcare programs who are required to write for publication.
